My creative space

Standard

Another day come and gone and another day closer to the weekend!!!  I didn’t do much today…..didn’t get anything created and that’s okay.  I did have one of my friends on SCS request to see picks of my crafting space that I call my therapy room, so I thought I’d share with you my wonderful creative space!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These two tables are along one wall in my crafting space.  The one on the left is where I have my cricut sitting now and the shelves above hold things like my stamp sets, embossing folders and my Cuttlebug.  The picture on the right is where I sit when I’m creating!! I have more of my stamp sets on the shelves above this table along with my stamp pads, Xyron machine, cutters, glue runners, etc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pic on the left is at the end of the room and this has the table I sit at with my computer on it.  The shelving unit to the left of that table holds my jars of flowers (sorted by color), my alpha letters (stored in little plastic drawers sorted by letter or in binders), my brads (sorted by color) and other misc embellishments.  The picture on the right has my black filing cabinet with a credenza on top of it (use to be in my office at work and I keep allot of misc junk in there…..lol.  The brown storage cupboard has my scrapbooking albums, paper packs for my scrapbooking (sorted into plastic storage cases by theme), my 8 1/2 x 11″ cardstock, and the shelving unit has misc paper packs, my stacking paper holders with paper sorted by color, my glitter, some misc punches and extra ribbon.  The blue and grey plastic box looking thing on the floor is a portable 12 x 12 paper holder with rolling wheels and a handle that comes up and is full of paper packs, and my solid 12 x 12 colored paper (of course, sorted by color)…lol.  On top of the black filing cabinet and the brown storage cupboard are my magazine holders with all my copies of my card/scrapbooking magazines sorted by magazine first and then in date order…..omgoodness…..notice a little OCD theme here anyone?!!  Wow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Over the door I have a shoe holder hanging on it and this is where I store most of my punches.  Since this picture was taken I’ve acquired a few Martha Stewart Punches and some EK Success and I have these stored in a plastic container on my shelves above my cricut machine.  Now, when I say I like to recycle and make things myself instead of spending money on them…..the stamp storage unit I have above my table is actually an old cassette tape holder!  I cut out pieces of cardboard to put on each space where a cassette would have gone and I store my stamp pads (upside down) in this case……of course…..sorted by color.  😉 

 

So, when I say I don’t like to spend money on the brand name storage things, I just couldn’t bring myself to pay $100 for a clip-it-up to store my embellishments.  I made this one myself out of a floor lamp base, a threaded rod, a couple of lamp shade skelatons, some nuts, bolts and washers and a little black spray paint, all for……..$20!!  I have my embellishments hanging from paper clips because, you guessed it, I was too cheap to go out and buy the little clips to hang all this stuff on.  Once again, the embellishments are sorted by theme.  I yi yi……I need help……lol!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last but not least, my little fettish with ribbon.  I have an over the door towel hanger on my storage room door in my craft room.  I have all  my ribbon (well, most of it) taken off the spools and threaded through ribbon holders I purchased through Paper Wishes on-line.  I have these put onto D rings and hanging from the towel bar.  Of course….the ribbon is sorted by color, with my lace separate and my fibers.  The little baggies you see at the end of the rod is some wide lace I got that is too wide to fit onto my ribbon holders. 

So, there you have it.  My little piece of heaven in the basement of my house.  You now see why I say therapy would have been cheaper…..but I gotta tell you….it wouldn’t have been as much fun!!!  Thank you for stopping by and letting me share with you my own therapy room……as you can see there is lots of room, so anytime you’d like to show up on my doorstep with your crafting supplies, I’m pretty sure I’d have enough room for you.  Oh!  I should add…….my room looks NOTHING like this most of the time as my mother can attest to…..it’s usually looking like a crafting tornado went through it and most of the time I can’t even see the tops of my tables….lol. 

Huggs,  Yvonne  🙂

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

2 responses »

  1. Very nice craft space Yvonne, I love how you took an old cassette holder and repurposed it. The room looks like it flows very well. I love it:) Thank you so much for sharing. I love seeing others spaces, you can get some great ideas from them.

I love hearing from you!!

