Alphabet Challenge with a twist

Standard

Hello to my blogging friends today!!  We are getting one winter storm through here today!  Some snow, but mostly wind and we’re ending up with some good sized snow banks we’ll have to deal with at some point today.  As much as I don’t want to actually go out and deal with it, we do need the snow cover for the farmers fall crops they seeded.  Too bad we couldn’t just order the snow for specific areas and just miss our driveway all together…..lol. 

As you know I participate in some of the challenges on SCS each week.  One of those challenges is none other than Dani’s Alphabet Challenge.  For this round we have to write a line of a story that centers around this weeks letter.   This week is the letter B.  Here is the card I chose.

The card base was cut from a sheet of Designer Paper by Creative Imaginaitons and their Iron Orchid Designs line.  I love the earth tones and the Sepia color of this paper is so versatile.  the square  sentiment piece was cut from a sheet of  DP that had a bunch of different sized images.  I love the tourquise blue with the sepia color….makes for a nice contrast.   The edges of the card and the sentiment image square were distressed with my distressing tool and then inked with my Tim Holtz Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

The butterflies I used on the card are from Close to My Heart Just Blooms Paper Shapes – Flutter.  They were inked in Tim Holtz Dried Marigold, Broken China and Antique Linen.  A row of tourquise bling was added to the body of the butterflies.  Most of my bling comes from our local Dollar Store and made by Forever In Time. 

The entire front of the card was given a few sprits of a texture called Goosebumps Clear Texture Spray made buy Tsukineko.  This stuff adds great texture to anything it’s sprayed onto and I love the effect it gives.  I’m a texture girl when it comes to my cards, so this stuff fits right into my stash!!

Now I have to see if I can come up with something for the I Spy Challenge….hmmm.  I didn’t get one done for last week, so I’m kinda thinking I may just incorporate both weeks into one card!! 

Huggss,  Yvonne  :o)

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

One response »

  1. Holey Moley, how much detail does a card need to be this beautiful!!! I love that texture stuff, have to look for that, the bling is out of this world and all the inking is fabulous. So much work, so much detail and what a G O R G E O U S card!!!! You have outdone yourself my friend. You have my addy, you know what to do!!

I love hearing from you!!

