My new Acrylic Stamp Storage System!!!

Standard

I’ve been looking for a system of storing my acrylic stamps for a while now.  I use to have them in little clear plastic cases, but I’d have to rumage through each case each time I wanted a stamp and half the time I’d forget I even had a stamp, or sentiment, or shape, etc.   I have all sizes of stamp sets which also made finding a storage system a challenge.  I was searching on You Tube the other day and found this video!!  Clear Stamp Storage System  Booya….now this is a system that I can do and will work with my different sets!  So, with my trusted sewing machine, some card stock and some page protectors…..a storage system was born!

 

 

Start by sorting your stamps into whatever categories you want:  Animals, Friendship, Sentiments, etc.  Sounds easy enough…..I ended up with a few categories.  The next thing I want to do is make a cross index as some of my sets have for instance, flowers and a sentiment.  Which category do I file it in??  lol lol

 

 

 

 

 

Once the stamps are sorted, take your piece of cardstock and lay your stamps out on the cardstock.  Take a pencil and a ruler and draw a line around your stamps to create little “frames” around them.  (She explains this very well in the video).  Remove the stamps, insert the piece of cardstock into the page protector and take it to your sewing machine.  You’ll sew over top of each of the pencil frames you made around the stamps. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What’s nice with this system is that each page is made to fit all the different sizes of stamps that I have.  And because it’s in a page protector, each page will end up being two sided and therefore you can store stamps on each side of the page.  Once you have the lines all sewn,  you’ll take a craft knife and a ruler and lightly cut along the top of each of the ‘pockets’ you’ve sewn for your stamps to open up the pocket.  If you do end up cutting too deep it’s not really a big deal, cause all you’ll really do is cut through the cardstock.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a close up of what the pockets look like.

So, there ya have it…..I really hope it helps me out!!  Either that or I’ll have allot of wacky page protectors I won’t know what to do with……lol

Yvonne 😉

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. Looks great. I am sure it should work and would be great to keep them organized.. You are an organizer whizz….. I bought some new arcylic stamps todayand already wondering where to put them lol. I may do something like that in the future. just keep us posted on hoe you like it

  2. I have been using the page protectors for a while now, but didn’t think of sewing pockets in them… Gotta give it a try. For my wood mounted stamps, I use photo storage cases, you can see what you have, lable them from the top so you don’t have to pull out each case, and organize them by set or season, or occasion. and the cases are stackable which makes it nice when you don’t have a lot of space.

I love hearing from you!!

