Our Cabin….

Standard

Hello my blogging friends.  I really think I’ve either lost my mind or I’m really just enjoying the shaped cards for a change of pace.  Lauren was teasing me to make a cabin for the challenge…..I thought, why not?!  How hard could it be?!  Actually not that hard at all!!  I had a card template for a birdhouse and so I just changed it up a bit as I built it. 

 

Now does this cute little welcome sign not make you want to come in and warm up with a nice cup of hot cocoa??  I have strips of birch bark from some of the trees up at the cabin so that’s what I used for my ‘siding’ and my ‘shingles’…..clever, ain’t I??  lol  I used one of those skinny coffee stir sticks, broke it, distressed it with a pair of my old scissors and then inked it with my Tim Holtz Distress Inks in Vintage Photo, Antique and Weathered Wood.  I also had some green spanish moss and thought it would look okay for the front yard of the cabin.

 

 

 

 

Here’s a look at the whole card.  I thought it needed a door and maybe a window but I couldn’t think of anything I could use to make them so this is just a view from the side of the house…..I mean, cabin.  😉

 

 

 

So Lauren, there is your cabin…..my cabin…..a cabin, sort of…..lol.   **Sigh**  maybe I should have stuck to a bird house!!  lol

I have one more card I made for this……off to post it to my blog!

Huggss,

Yvonne 😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

2 responses »

  1. Very cool… I like it.. The siding looks real.. what did you use, Birch bark???? Very creative.. I must say.. Anxious to see what is coming next

  2. OH WOW!!! Now this is the cabin in the woods!!! This is so very creative, so brilliant. I love it!! Love that you have used natural materials. You always amaze me, but this is right out there!!

I love hearing from you!!

