Monochromatic…..it was harder than I thought!!

Standard

Hello to my blog friends!  I hope you had a great weekend!  I didn’t get as much time in as I thought to play in my therapy room, but that is okay.  I was able to make a card to play along in the Mix It Up! challenge thread.  Ashdale (a.k.a. Lisa) started the thread where we have a different host each week and there are pretty much no rules……kinda. 😉  You really should pop on over…..we have allot of fun there.  So, this week we have the wonderful Muscrat (a.k.a. Kathy) hosting and she brought us a doozy!  Our challenge was to create a monochromatic card, right down to any and all embellishments used, ink, paper, etc.  I love the look of the monochromatic cards and I really thought this one was going to be easy…..pfft…..ya right!!  Me and my bright ideas decided I’d do a white card….pretty simple…..I have lots of white paper, white ribbon, white pearls…….but white ink for a sentiment on white paper…..ya, never thought that one out so well….lol. 

I made a 5×5 card and used paper from my Recollections cardstock paper and the Precious Metals pack.  I love the shimmer of this paper and thought it would work great for a monochromatic card.  I ran a stip of it through my Cuttlebug and used my Swiss Dots folder.  I also cut out a doily using my Close To My Heart Art Philosophy Cricut Cartridge…….have I told you how much I LOVE this cartridge??  😉  Okay, maybe a few times.  That beautiful lace flower is from a strip of lace my mom and I purchased when I got married 32 years ago.  Neither one of us can remember why we bought it anymore, we never used it, and I’m sure glad now we didn’t and that mom found it and cut some for me to use too!!  The front of the flower where you see the pearl drop is actually open and filled with a little bit of cotton.  That’s how we bought it…..it’s just beautiful in real life.

 

I did actually figure out what to do for my sentiment, I used the white embossing powder, from Stampin’ Up!, that our hostess with the mostest gave me in my Phyced Valentine package over in the Secret Valentine thread.  I was very lucky to have her as my Secret Valentine and she sent me the most beautiful package…..I think I drooled all over it for a day before I dared to take anything out of it to use.   So ya, there is my sentiment.  It actually shows up pretty good in real life and says “Love is spoken here.”  The sentiment is from my Close To My Heart Treasure Life stamp set.  I use that set allot as it has some very nice sentiments and flowers in it.  The ribbon is from our local Dollar Store again.  I’m very lucky they have a half decent scrapbooking section here or I’d be hooped for any supplies at all!!

 

 

 

Here’s a closer look at that awesome doily die cut from my CTMH Art Philosophy cartidge.  I cut it out at 3.5″ and added some little butterflies I punched out using my Creative Memories butterfly punch.  I added some pearl drops to the body of the butterflies.  

 

 

So, here’s a view of the whole card.  I added a grouping of pearls on the corners of the cardstock that was embossed with the swiss dots.  These pearls are from Close To My Heart and come in a package of 36 in four sizes.  I really like them.  I also used a pearl swirl  in behind the lace flower and I’m not sure where that was from as I’d thrown the packaging out…..ooppsss!!   There you have it…..my version of the monochromatic card!  I hope you enjoyed it and thanks so much for stopping by!

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉

 

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

6 responses »

  1. Oh WOW this is just incredible, picking my jaw up off the floor!! Just stunning, white embossing, texture and lace flower, so beautiful with all those details that have come together to create a fantastic work of art!!!! Love it!!

  2. Yvonne, this is so stunning. I’ve been looking at doily dies but I’m always afraid they’ll be too large. I don’t have a Cricut or I’d be in business. Beautiful job!

I love hearing from you!!

