Alcohol…..inks!!

Standard

I love trying new techniques and this one grabbed my attention as soon as I saw it.  I have this nice little collection of  Tim Holtz Alcohol Inks.  I lucked out with this bundle from a girl who was getting out of scrapbooking (I know!!  Who get OUT of scrapbooking??!!) and was selling all her stuff.  She had this bundle of  10 bottles of the alcohol inks, three different mixatives, the blending solution, a full package of the felt applicators and an applicator tool……for $20!!!  Cha Ching!!  Sold!!  Anyway, where was I……(sooo easily distracted …… squirrel…..lol).  Okay, so here’s what I decided to do with these inks the other day.  I was surfing You Tube videos and came across this awesome number…..check out the results…..

 

 

This is sooo easy peasy to do.  Take a piece of glossy cardstock, your alcohol inks in a range of colors of your choice and start applying one drop of a single color at a time onto the glossy cardstock and let it spread out a bit.  Take another color and put a drop close to your first drop and let the colors bleed together!  As each color bleeds into the next a new color is created.  Continue to do this until your piece of cardstock is covered  as much as you need it to be for your card.  The alcohol ink dries very quickly and in no time at all you can trim the cardstock down to your desired dimensions.  I trimmed this one down to a little over 1 3/4″ and attached it to my piece of black cardstock.

 

Check out the finished card…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really like how colorful and bright this is.  I decided to just stamp a simple flower design onto the card from my Close To My Heart ‘Treasure Life’ set and emboss it in white.  I added the ‘because I CARE’ sentiment from my Stampin’ Up! set by the same name and embossed it in white as well.  Pretty darn cool and very easy!  And no bling on this card??!! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s it for tonight.  My pillow is screaming at me to get to sleep……so, again.  Thanks so much for stopping in to take a peak….I appreciate it and I love to read your comments!  Till tomorrow…..

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. Gorgeous!! I love your colour choices and the layout is fantastic. Love the simplicity of the stamp and sentiment with the bright panel. You have made me want to try this with my Alcohol Inks!! What a fantastic shopper you are!! Hugs 🙂

  2. This is something I am going to try for sure… It is so bright and cheery looking and each time you would do it ,it would be a surprise.. Love your single flower stamp as well.. Great card

  3. Had to giggle a lot, while reading the first part. Thanks for making me laugh, its so recognizable! I love the combination you made with vibrant colors on one side and the stylish flower and sentiment on the other. Makes me want to try this technique. Oh oh, i don’t have alcohol inks yet…..

    • Hahaha…..I see I’m doing a good job of enabling you today to run out for some new supplies. Don’t ya just hate it when that happens?? NOT!!! Lol. Happy shopping and dripping….teehee. Thanks for taking the time to comment too…..I do really appreciate it!

      Yvonne

I love hearing from you!!

