Mix It Up…..Just for You!

Standard

G’day mates!  Our good friend Lauren from the beautiful land down under is hosting this weeks Mix It Up Challenge.  Her challenge for us this week is backgrounds.  To use ink (any ink) to make a background for our card, no pretty paper, just ink.  Booya!  I’m excited about this one cause there are soooo many background techniques that I’ve been dying to try, and just never seem to allow myself the time to go and play……….well, this week we can all have a go at it!!

So, the technique I decided to try was the “Joseph’s Coat” technique, which you can find here over on SCS. So, because I don’t have a Spectrum ink pad, what I did was take three colors of my Tim Holtz Distress Ink’s, and because I don’t have any re-inkers for any of my stamps (I know!!!  I really have to start changing this) I used a piece of a baby wipe and applied the inks to the baby wipe directly from the ink pads.  I chose Peeled Paint, Broken China and Concord Grate.  I applied as much ink from the ink pads as I could and then rolled my brayer over the inked up baby wipe and then across my sheet of glossy cardstock.   I did this a couple of times to get as dark a covering as I could using this method.  I made sure it was completed dry and then took my Hummingbird stamp and my Versamark and stamped random Hummingbird images directly onto the piece of brayered glossy cardstock.  I covered the stamped images with some clear embossing powder and embossed them under the heat gun.  I cleaned off my brayer, grabbed my black stamp pad and covered the whole piece of the embossed brayer colored glossy cardstock, with black ink using my brayer once again.  Once it was all covered in black, I took a paper towel and wiped off as much of the black ink as would come off and I was left with colorful little embossed Hummingbirds showing through the black ink.

 

 

 

Isn’t it a beaut?!  I trimmed the sheet down, cropped it onto a piece of bright blue paper and pop dotted it onto my card front.  I then re-inked up my babywipe ‘ink pad’ I’d made and took the Hummingbird stamp and stamped three more random Hummingbirds to the exposed white area of the card front.  Added a sentiment, some bling and a sheer ribbon and TaDa!!!  One card done…..  ?? to go with this challenge!!

 

 

 So that’s it for card #1 for this challenge.   I really like the subtlety of this card.  Hmmm…..what to try to tackle next??

Thanks soo much for popping in for a peek…..I love to read your comments!!

Huggss,

Yvonne   😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

3 responses »

  1. Hey it’s a beudy mate!!! Yes you have nailed the challenge with this one, well done!! Love these little hummers, excellent.

    I thought your masculine card nailed the challenge too, very nicely done with both cards!!

    • Lol…..I’m glad I’m not the only one who needs to run out and buy the tools for the techniques I find on-line and on blogs. I’ve actually used my brayer quite often. Happy card making and thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment….I really appreciate it!!

      Yvonne

I love hearing from you!!

