Faux Letterpress

Standard

Hello again!  Round two for the inked backgrounds for Lauren’s challenge to us last week on the Mix It Up thread.  This is one technique I’ve been wanting to try for a while now.  It took me two kicks at the cat to get it somewhat the way I wanted it.  It’s the Faux Letterpress Embossabilities technique from the resource page on SCS.   

 

 

 

I used my Tim Holtz Postmark embossing folder and the Tim Holtz Frayed Burlap Distress Ink.  I brayered the ink onto one side of the embossing folder, put my cardstock in the folder and ran it through my Cuttlebug!  How cool!  The ink transferred to the part of the embossed image that stayed flat.  I really like the look of this.  I added a vintage looking tag with some swirls wrapped around it and a strip of lace on the bottom of the tag.

 

 

 

I added some lace along the folded edge of the card as well to tie it all together, stamped my Friend sentiment to the front in the Frayed Burlap and pop-dotted the vintage image to the card front.  The sentiment stamp is from my Close To My Heart ‘Find Your Style’ stamp set.  I love that stamp set…..very vintagey.

Now, onto this weeks challenge card where we had to use up any scraps we had on the table…..this proved to be rather challenging for me this weekend as we were at the cabin and the only scraps I had there were from the two cards I’d just made!  Come along and see….

Huggss,

Yvonne 😉

 

 

 

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

4 responses »

  1. Okay now you are just showing off….

    ” I brayered the ink onto one side of the embossing folder, put my cardstock in the folder and ran it through my Cuttlebug! How cool! The ink transferred to the part of the embossed image that stayed flat ”

    What????? You are too fancy for me!! LOL!!! I love that raised embossed look you have created! It really adds so much interest! I keep going back to look at it to try to figure out how you have managed it but it is late and my brain isn’t processing it tonight. I will try to bend my head around it tomorrow 🙂

    Love this Yvonne, you are so talented! *hugs*

  2. Yvonne, stop kicking that poor cat… LOL. Actually i tried this a couple of months ago and i too was kicking the cat, it look me several tries but it really is a cool technique and you did a great job with it. Your card has a wonderful vintage feel. Just love it!

  3. Oh the queen of vintage is happening again. I love this card, the colours and that EF have worked so well together, the tag is just gorgeous, and the lace of course. Attention to detail and what works together give you the appearance of everything happening so easily, great inspiration here, love your vintage stuff, thanks for sharing, hugs

I love hearing from you!!

