From the inside looking out…..

Standard

Hello my blog friends…..I have NOT fallen off the face of the earth….really!!  I figured I’d better come on and post a few cards before you all thought I’d forgotten about my blog.  I haven’t!!  Life has just been crazy busy lately. 

Soooo, I was sitting at my computer last night and thinking about the new Grand Madison Window die from Memory Box my mom got.  I had spent some time cutting out a bunch of die cuts for her this weekend in a few different colors……I think she’ll have enough window die cuts to last her for a while now.  lol!!  I was trying to think of an idea to make a card using one of the window dies and thought, I want to try to make one from the perspective of being on the inside looking out. My little brain went into overdrive and I was off!!  I think it turned out pretty darn good!!  Check this out!!

Isn’t this cool?!  I took a piece of white cardstock and cut it down so it would fit into the inside of the window die.  I stamped it with one of the stamps in my Stampin’ Up! Lovely As A Tree set. (I love that stamp set by the way…..lol)  Then I took my Tim Holtz Forest Moss Distress ink pad and a Q-Tip and ‘dotted’ on my leaves for the trees using the tip of the Q-Tip.  I also highlighted the stamped areas of the grass and then took the flat side of the Q-Tip and lightly ‘colored’ in the grass with my Tim Holtz Peeled Paint Distress ink pad.  I tore a piece of paper into a rough oval shape and then used my Tim Holtz Broken China Distress ink pad and a sponge to ‘color’ in my sky.  I used the torn piece of paper as a mask and created a couple of clouds…..which you can’t see now because I decided my window needed curtains…..sigh.  Oh well….you’ll have to just trust me that there are a couple of really cute clouds in behind those lace curtains!!!  The flowers that are in the ‘window box’ on the outside of the window were made using my Memory Box Catalina Border die cut.  I had a yellow die cut sitting on my table, so I cut it up and inked the flowers and leaves using a Q-Tip and my Tim Holtz Distress inks.  I pop dotted the window die onto the front and taa daa!!! 

I tried to pick out a patterned paper that would look like wall paper and covered the front of my card with that and then just built my card on the front of it.  The “Be You” sentiment is stamped from my ‘Chairs To You’ set from Close To My Heart. 

This card took me forever to put together it seemed.  I put it together while I was Skyping with my dear friend from Alberta.  Ya gotta love being able to sit and create while spending time with a good friend as well…..it doesn’t get much better than that!!!

I’m off for the night now…..I have sooo many cards to catch up on and get posted it isn’t funny….really…..it isn’t!!!  Maybe this weekend??  lol.  Thanks so much for dropping in to take a peek.  I do appreciate it and love it when you leave comments!!

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

6 responses »

  1. I love this, very fantastic use of this window….. you are in my head again, I posted some of these on Pinterest this afternoon and pulled out the same stamp to do one similar, you clever girl!!! I love it!! You inspire me, you have such great ideas. I love the lace!! And I love everything else too! Hugs 🙂

  2. Yvonne I LOVE what you did with this! I would never have thought of doing something from the inside looking out! Brilliant! This is such a pretty pretty card and I love how you fussy cut out the sentiment! Beautiful!!! 🙂

  3. Beautiful card! I am envious of your coloring! Love the lace curtains and I think I can make out some of the clouds! Fantastic job!

  4. Very creative and the card is spectacular.. going to my favs for sure… Great idea to put diminion to the trees.. yep.. lots of great ideas in this card

I love hearing from you!!

