Father’s Day…

Standard

Hello Blog pals…..here I am again!!  I have a group of girls I work with that purchase my cards on an ongoing basis.  I have this little box at work where Ijust put a bunch of cards in with an envelope for them to pay me on the honor system for any cards they take.  I decided I’d better start getting some Father’s Day cards in that box soon, so here’s a card I made up when I got some inspiration from one of my card making magazines.

I really like the masculine feel of this card.  Another layout I saw in one of my cardmaking magazines…..lol.  I love the layers on this card and I even pulled my sewing machine out for this card.  I made a little brown paper bag (out of a big brown paper bag….original, huh….lol) to hold a tag that has a cute little sentiment on it.  The piece of ruled paper I tore out of a journal book I have.  It didn’t have the red margin lines on it so I added those.  I also didn’t like the stark look of the white paper so I used my Tim Holtz blending tool and Distress Ink in Antique Linen to soften it a bit.

Here’s a peek at the tag I put into my paper bag.  It says “You are some kind of wonderful”.  Kind of fitting for Father’s Day I thought!!  lol  The measuring tape is from my Stampin’ Up! Totally Tools set and that stamp actually has the words ‘love beyond measure’ under the tape measure.  For this card I only wanted the tape measure so just didn’t ink up that part of the stamp.  The Happy Father’s Day is from one of my Close To My Heart sentiment sets called ‘A Little of Everything’.  It’s a very versatile and I use it quite often.

 

Check it out in full size.  I kinda like this one.  Check out my ‘screw’ brads…..cute…..oopps…..I mean, manly, aren’t they!

Thanks so much for coming on by.  I hope I stirred your imagination just a little to go and get creating in your craft space!!

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

4 responses »

  1. This is very clever, I must say!!!! The color choices , the torn out paper and the paper bag plus the little screw brads all say masculine to me.. Love it… It will be a hit for your treasure box ay work…

  2. Very clever, fantastic colours, love the stitching and the torn paper, the border punch, the brads and the pocket idea with the paper bag. I love this card, it just screams male. Well done my friend, I always get blown away when I call in. You have a way with these colours that I can only dream of, hugs 🙂

I love hearing from you!!

