Art Journal page…….

Standard

So I have a couple of ladies on my Scrap ‘n With Flair design team that are amazing as doing up Art Journalling pages with multi-mediums.  This little niche has intrigued me for some time now and I’ve been racking their brains and asking a hundred questions to find out what I’d need to try something like this myself.  I found out I already had a lot of the tools on hand already that are used in art journalling, so it was just a matter of purchasing a few bottles of Acrylic Paint and I was off to try my hand at a page.  When I was at the local Dollar Store picking up the paint, some art brushes, etc., they had these 8.5 x 11 pads of sheets of canvas paper.  I bought it and that’s what I used for my page today.  I’m still not sure about it but thought, what the heck.  This whole crafting and blogging is supposed to be a growth experience so, let me just step outside of my comfort zone for a few minutes and I’ll show you what I did.

There is lots of texture and layers on this page and I tried to get some pics of the main things to show you.  Here’s what the whole page looks like…

 

I started out with a 8.5 x 11 sheet of canvas I’d purchased in a pad from the local Dollar Store.  I attached random pages from an old book, a piece of music sheet DP that I crumpled before I attached it down onto the front of the canvas with my Claudia Hellmuth Multi-Medium Matte.  Once that was dry I put a coat of my Tim Holtz Distress Stain in Picket Fence all over the front of the canvas.  Once that was dry I added a second coat to give it a bit more coverage.   Then I started to attach my random pieces onto the front.  A few pieces from my favorite paper napkins, another scrap of music sheet paper, a couple of cut outs from making my Fab Scraps chipboard album, some chipboard hearts, a couple of pieces of lace and some flowers made out of paper towel I’d misted using my Lindy’s spray mists.  I took my Ultimate Grunge background stamp set from Tim Holtz and stamped random images onto the front with my Rusty Hinge, Dried Marigold, Walnut Stain and Black Soot Distress Inks.  I also took my Dried Marigold and added some strokes of ink directly from the stamp pad.  Added some paint strokes of red acrylic paint and then toned it down a bit with some of my Picked Fence Distress Stain.  Took my Lindy’s Spray Mist in the incandescent Copper and misted the front and then just gave it a couple of short little spritzed to add some bigger blobs of mist.  At the end I took my white acrylic paint and some paper towel and a piece of plastic and randomly dabbed some white onto the front as well. 

I know this craft form is not for everyone but as one of the Design Team said, it’s strangely freeing to just slap things onto a page and see what slowly starts to develope…..lol.  Here are some more random close up’s of some of the elements.  I have lots to learn and decided I may as well take you all along for the ride!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not sure what my next project will be……I really need to go check in with my friends on SCS before they forget who I am and see what’s been happening on the two challenges I use to participate in…..I wonder if I’ll have to re-introduce myself??!!  :o)

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. Very cool. and interesting.. I can see it would be interesting to just keep adding and also cool to use so many mediums for one project… not sure what you would do with.it, but that may not be the point.. it would be great for experimenting and finding out what you likel yep, just talked myself into maybe trying one of those…lol… You have one up on me though , you have ideas coming out every where.. great job

  2. Amazing creation! I’m not into mixed mediums but I can see why others like it. Maybe it would be good stress relief! lol….Beautiful work!

  3. Yvonne, I really really like this. Just one question…..what do you use it for? It’s almost like an art canvas. You need to give me more info please. I think this is just wonderful and you did a great job on it. Not that I know anything about this type of thing, but I really do like it:) 🙂 🙂

  4. Beautiful page Yvonne!!! I love all of the different textures and layers. I just bought a journal last week and can’t wait to do my first page. Thanks for the inspiration!!! Have a wonderful weekend! ~Sophia

I love hearing from you!!

