August DARE……a page about me……yikes!!!!!

Standard

Alrighty then……so Tracy Weinzapfel over on the Facebook page titled ‘Monday Nights LIVE with Tracy Weinzapfel Studios’, hosts a weekly Ustream mixed media free class I guess you could call it and does the most amazing pieces.  At the beginning of August she decided her monthly DARE challenge would be for us to create a mixed media page about ourselves and where we are right now.  As I listen the collective groan as you’re reading this…..that’s exactly what we all thought when she decided that was to be our ‘challenge’ for this month.  A page about ourselves??!!  No one thought they’d have a picture nice enough to use…..or didn’t like getting their picture taken….or like me, had just never done a page about themselves…..ever!!!  I find it very weird to create a page with just me on it……it somehow seems like I’m being conceited or something.  As the month went along, more and more of us started to dive in and try it and accept her DARE challenge.  One of the reasons I wanted to join both Tracy’s and Limor Weber’s facebook pages was to be able to just create a page and not try for perfection……not worry about whether ‘everyone’ was going to like it…..to be able to just sit in my little therapy room and create without a care about what anyone else though.  Well, I have to say, I’m finding the mixed media art genre to be very soothing and therapeutic like in some ways…..I’ve yet to master the ‘not caring about what others think’ part yet.  Baby steps…..lol

So, first I had to find a picture.  This was a challenge within itself as I’m always the one behind the camera as no one in my family ever thinks to take pictures!!!  As I weeded through the, ‘I look too fat in that picture’, ‘I have a stupid smile in that picture’, ‘My hair isn’t perfect in that picture’, ‘My eyes look like they’re half closed in that picture’……I am most certainly my own worst critic…..one more thing to add to the list of things I should work on…..lol.  I finally came across a picture of me holding my ver first Grandchild for the first time and yup……that was a genuine smile that I liked.  The proud Grandma smile…..lol.  I then decided to try something totally different again and use a color palette that I dont’ normally turn to……yellow, green and orange.  Yup, that’s what I chose…..yikes!!!  As I started to layer the paints to the canvas sheet, it started to grow on me.  That’s when I decided I wanted to do some zentangling on the page to complete it.  Sooooo much fun to do!!  Here are some close-ups of the patterns.  And I really should have written down the names of the patterns as I went along…..but I didn’t, so…..oh well!!

Here is a swirly design.  This one I just made up as I went along…..not sure if there’s an actual zentangle pattern that looks like this…..lol.

I really like the start  contrast between the bright orange and the turquoise in the corner of this pattern…..whatever it’s called.  I’m sure if there are any Zentangle friends reading this they’re probably cringing at the thought I don’t know what the patterns are called.  Ooppsss…..

This pattern is called Sez……the pretty little swirly thingy’s…..lol. 

Not sure about this pattern either…..lol.  Kinda looks like a fish net….maybe…..

Now, I believe this pattern is called Strickles…..it’s pretty cool. 

I like this pattern…..it’s called Bales. 

This sort of weave pattern is called Keeks……also very cool.  So, here is what the whole canvas page looks like…..drum roll please…..hahahaha.

So…..there you have it.  My page about me and some zentangling.  I think it turned out pretty cool…..bright colors and all!!

As always, thanks so much for popping your head in to take a peek……I truly do appreciate it very much!!  I love to hear your feedback as well.

Now, I’m off to see if I can free-hand draw a bird……LOL LOL LOL…..this should be interesting.

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. Wow! This is fantastic Yvonne. Fab colour combo. Good for you for having a go. Really lovely photo by the way. I did giggle when I read about you choosing what photo to use. I think we all have ones were we have our eyes closed or having a bad hair day lol! Hope to see more of these pages.
    Sending hugs,
    Florence x

  2. Yvonne, Remember me? Yes it’s your long lost friend!! I don’t know what everybody else thinks but I think this project is perfect for you! I love all the colors and that is a wonderful picture of you!!! Good luck with your free hand drawing!!! *hugs*
    Lisa 🙂

  3. Very well done.. I have no idea what you are talking about when you say Zentangle but if it means those patterns, way to go….But then what does a mother know !!!! Love the picture of you and great creativity for sure… Love it!!

I love hearing from you!!

