Monday Night LIVE with Tracy Weinzapfel creation!!

Standard

Hello my blogging family…..I’m back to the Mixed Media again!  I often spend my Monday evenings with the very talented Tracy Weinzapfel on her Ustream classes.  For the month of September she is taking us on a shared journey as we create and complete a wonderful canvas art journal that she sewed together for us.  This past Monday we worked on the front and back covers.  I don’t have my canvas journal yet so I played along on a piece of canvas I have.  If you’re looking for some Mixed Media inspiration, check out her channel here

As I started to work on this canvas I was actually glad I didn’t have my actual canvas journal yet!  Sometimes the creative process for me is a lesson in frustration and this was one of those times.  I don’t have a lot of stencils to choose from and the one I chose to use didn’t transfer well to  my canvas with the spray I chose to use.  So, out came the turquoise paint and a sponge instead.  Not bad, but still wasn’t happy with it……so out came the paint brush.  It didn’t cover the original sprayed transfer completely so I decided to use my white to outline the stencil pattern.  It was better…..sort of……lol.

This was my first choice for a flower.  It wasn’t quite working for me…..I don’t know if it was the blue color or what it was, but I just didn’t like it.  Back to my stash of silk flowers I went and came up with a much better choice I think!

So??…….what do you think?  I like the green flower better…..it’s bigger and I think just fits into the page better.  I’m still not happy with the background and wish it were more muted, but learning curve it was.  Now, hopefully I have all the kinks worked out by the time my canvas journal gets here and I do the real cover…..lol. 

I just love this flower.  I’ve had these beauties in my stash for a while now just waiting for the right project to put them on…..I think this fits the bill!!

Thanks once again for popping in……as always, let me know you stopped by.  I’m off to post a link to this on Tracy’s blog.

Till next time friends!!

Huggss…..

Yvonne  🙂

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

3 responses »

  1. What is not to like.. Bet it looks better to you today!!!! I like it very much.. I like how you wrote the word ART and I thunk it would make a good first page……or cover!!!!!

I love hearing from you!!

