Vintage Christmas Card and YouTube tutorial

Standard

Hello blog family.  I know I’m getting fewer and father between on my posts, and one day I just may be able to get myself organized enough to be more regular…..maybe……one day. 😉  So, I’m part of a Facebook group called Mixed Media Mondays that a woman by the name of Tracy Weinzapfel runs and she organized a Christmas Card swap a while back.  Now, it’s been a long time since I’ve been in a swap and after I was done making 12 cards I remembered why…..I have a real hard time making the same card twice…..let alone 12 times!!!  And the only reason I did make the same card 12 times is cause I knew I wouldn’t have enough time to come up with 12 different designs before I had to mail them off…..lol.  I did however, love how they turned out and once I had my little assembly line set up I was hopping and on my way.  It didn’t really take as long as I’d originally thought it would, so that was a plus!!  🙂  So, enough rambling and here’s the card I made.

 

IMG_0671

I love the crackle on this card and all the lace trim to make the tree.  Our local Dollar Store usually has a pretty nice selection of lace on hand…..not much on each roll……but a fairly nice selection none the less.   The lace for the border of the card came from our local Thrift Store and I always hit the mother-load when I go there.  I recently did a YouTube video to show what I purchased on my last trip to the Thrift Store and holy cow, I really lucked out with some awesome Mixed Media goodies and a ton of lace. 

If you’d like to know how I put this card together, go on over to my YouTube where I did a step by step tutorial on the process.  Here’s a link to get you there:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eh0lURFKgF4

Thank you once again friends for popping in to see what I’ve been up to.  You know I love to read your comments, so don’t be afraid to leave me some. 🙂 

Till next time!

Huggsss,

Yvonne  😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

8 responses »

  1. Absolutely gorgeous card! I love the use of the lace. I understand what you mean by making 12 cards all at once. I hate making more than 1 of each lol. Thanks so much for the tutorial!

  2. Yvonne you are the queen of vintage, love that edge, the crackle and all those trims making your tree. How creative is that, I love the idea, thanks for sharing. I love your style, your imagination and creativity. Thanks so much for blogging this. Hugs 🙂

  3. I love this and love crackle effects and lace trims, my favourite thing to do is inexpensive crackling, I did my first ever video on YT (dec 2011) showing how to get the crackle effect with cheap household paint and cheap PVA school glue, it works really well too and saves a lot of money buying crackle mediums xxxx hugs hun

I love hearing from you!!

