The first brush stroke of paint.

Standard

This month a very good friend put out a challenge to me.   I’m looking at it as a bigger challenge than just painting a piece of art in an hour and a half.  Let It Go speaks to so many areas of my life……especially my art.  I even have a hard time calling it my art as to me it means I’ve already reached a level of talent to consider myself an artist.  That’s something for another day…..lol.  One thing I have to let go of is my own pre-conceptions around what makes someone an artist.  I purchased a pad of canvas paper from our local Dollar Store last year…..I also bought myself a beautiful Strathmore Mixed Media Visual Journal to use as  my art  journal.  This art journal sat for that year as I didn’t feel as though I was good enough or confident enough to apply paint to it as I might ruin one of the pages.  All the pages I’ve done over the past year were done on my individual sheets of canvas paper from the pad I’d purchased……that way if it didn’t turn out I could just toss it and nothing would be ruined.  When I really sat down and thought about that last week, I realized how ridiculous that thought process was, because a person’s art journal IS the place to practice new techniques, colors combo’s, or whatever it is you want to do with it and figure out what works and what doesn’t.  And a place to write down what it is you’re feeling that day.  So, I took a look at this month’s challenge and decided to Let It Go with my art journal and put that first stroke on paint into it.  And to my surprise……I think it turned out beautifully!

IMG_2098

I used three different main colors…..yellow, orange and purple.  I don’t have expensive paints and use whatever I can find at our Dollar Store.  I had to mix a bit of red to my orange I had to tone it down a bit and not make it so neon…..and I had to mix my own purple as I didn’t have any…..but it worked!!  I also used my charcoal pencil for the first time and OOOooohhhhh man…..I think I’m hooked!  Really loving the look that pencil gave this page.  And I journalled about my struggle to ‘Let It Go’.  I painted my journalling free hand and I’m very happy with it.  I do think  I need to find a different brush if I’m going to journal with a brush….lol.   And I don’t know enough about brushes to even know what to go look for…..LOL.

So, there is it…..my brand new art journal is no longer a paint virgin…..lol.   I’ve taken the plunge and Let It Go and I’m so happy I did and over-whelmed with the result.

 

Huggsss,

Yvonne

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

7 responses »

  1. What a wonderful work of art! I understand your words perfectly…they seem to fit my life lol. Keep the beautiful artwork coming…you will be amazed at what you’ll accomplish!

  2. Fabulous page but more so a very powerful and honest journal page! I think everyone of us artists go through this emotion/phase! I’m excited to see what your future journey and pages will evolve into! Hugs my friend!

  3. I am so proud of you and even happier for you! Congratulations, I always knew you were an artist, and now you realize it too!

    Hugs,
    Maureen

  4. hey sis! Love it!! It’s stopping all the negative thoughts and believing that you CAN!! Good job!! looking forward to seeing more of your artwork!! :o) love to u xo

I love hearing from you!!

