In my house…..

Standard

Being at the cabin is truly one of my favorite places to be.  We have the week off and are up here finishing up some work to the cabin and spending lots of time just relaxing and enjoying the peace and tranquility we experience here.  I have to say being here really does make my heart sing!  And when you look outside and this is the scene that is playing out right in front of us…..it doesn’t get any better.

IMG_2203 IMG_2208

 

I spent some time creating this evening too.  This is another important aspect of my life that makes my heart sing.  Tracy’s Mixed Media Monday this week was to create a page with the important things you’d like to have in your house.  It’s funny how we often allow things into our lives that cause us to not be fully present and often retract into a fearful and questioning state.  I know for myself, I often begin to take what’s around me for granted and not be happy in the here and now and look forward to the ‘someday’s’.  But, what if someday never arrives, never morphs into what we had in our minds was a better place to be?  We’ve lost that time we spent waiting…..and choosing not to appreciate.  I have a website that sends out daily sayings or short write-ups of encouragement.  Soulseeds is the name of the site and this is what they shared the other day that got me to thinking…..

Tell me a story of who you are, and see who I am in the stories I am living.
And together we will remember that each of us always has a choice.

Don’t tell me how wonderful things will be . . . some day.
Show me you can risk being completely at peace,
truly OK with the way things are right now in this moment,
and again in the next and the next and the next. . .

I have heard enough warrior stories of heroic daring.
Tell me how you crumble when you hit the wall,
the place you cannot go beyond by the strength of your own will.
What carries you to the other side of that wall,
to the fragile beauty of your own humanness?

Take me to the places on the earth that teach you how to dance, the places where you can risk letting the world break your heart.
And I will take you to the places where the earth beneath my feet and the stars overhead make my heart whole again and again.

Show me how you offer to your people and the world the stories and the songs you want our children’s children to remember, and I will show you how I struggle not to change the world, but to love it.

Sit beside me in long moments of shared solitude, knowing both our absolute aloneness and our undeniable belonging. Dance with me in the silence and in the sound of small daily words, holding neither against me at the end of the day.

And when the sound of all the declarations of our sincerest intentions has died away on the wind, dance with me in the infinite pause before the next great inhale of the breath that is breathing us all into being, not filling the emptiness from the outside or from within.

Don’t say, “Yes!” Just take my hand and dance with me. The Dance by Oriah Mountain Dreamer

This little piece is soooo true and yet so hard to master.  Being OK with the here and now…..right now…..in this moment. The second verse is what really spoke to me.  So, when Tracy decided to do the house as part of her class on Monday Night it kind of tied right into what I was feeling.  This Art Journal page is probably my new favorite.  These are just some of the things I have around me on a daily basis that I don’t always see or recognize.

IMG_2213

 

I love the depth of color on the page…..the layers of book text…..paint……modeling paste…..marker and charcoal pencil.  I used the modeling paste to make my clouds and the damask stencil is done in the paste.  I love the texture!  I used a sort of fish net stencil for the shingles on the roof of my house.   Here are some close-ups of the texture…..the charcoal pencil shading and my ‘windows’.

IMG_2215IMG_2219 IMG_2218

 

 

This was kinda a long post…..I guess I should get on here more often so I won’t be so long-winded!  Thank you so much for stopping by once again.  I appreciate each of you!!

 

Huggsss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

8 responses »

  1. Thanks, Yvonne, for sharing the piece from Soulseeds and your house. I enjoyed being at Tracy’s class with you this past Monday; I am RJP111. Your house is amazing! I kept looking at it on FB because the windows look 3-D. I was trying to figure out how you did that …. I’m pretty sure I have a black charcoal pencil, so now I know a good way to use it!

  2. Wow .. I love this page…. Thanks for sharing the Soulseeds as well, all very true. Back to the painting… Love the textures and to me it looks like you have a path for going in and coming out.. like that too.. I could go on.. but as I said before love it.. I may have to try one of those too…..

  3. Fabulous words to use as an inspiration for your page. I love seeing houses in projects and yours is stunning. Thanks for joining in with the first spotlight mini-challenge at Anything But A Card.

  4. What a wonderful piece you have created Yvonne and what an amazing place you created it in. Thank you for joining at at our first spotlight mini challenge over at Anything But A Card.

I love hearing from you!!

