Learning to grow….

Standard

We came back to our little piece of paradise again last night.  Our cabin really does feel like a retreat to us.  One more night before we have to head back to reality….::sigh::

I received some happy mail a while ago from a very sweet friend I met on Facebook – Eddyth Andy Watson (also known as Andy).  She offered to send me a hand made flower stamp she’d made along with some foam alphabets that I’d really like to try and figure out how to make into stamps as well….lol.  There was also a little box full of graffiti type heavy embellishment stickers that I just LOVE!  I wanted to play with both and grabbed for the stickers first.  They had awesome colors to play with and decided I’d try my hand at ‘painting’ a complete background using only a credit card as my brush and trying to incorporate the colors from the stickers.  Well……I sort of succeeded……sort of not.  It ended up being one of those pages that was…..well…..busy when I was done….LOL.  I’m not too sure about it.  Kinda like it….kinda get dizzy looking at it.  I did find the perfect quote to put on the page though!

IMG_2238 (2)

“An essential aspect of creativity is  not being afraid to fail”.  There was a time not too long ago that this page being in my actual Art Journal would have bothered the heck out of me!  Now…..I look at it as a learning opportunity of what not to do next time!  LOL  I do have to admit I loved doodling all over it though!  I find my zen-doodling very relaxing and almost meditative.  It definitely takes your mind off of anything you may be worried about or bothered by at the moment as you’re concentrating on the doodle so much that your mind really doesn’t wander a whole lot.  Here’s a close up of some of the texture too.  I started out by literally grabbing every piece of scrap paper I had on my work-space and adhering it down!

IMG_2240 (2)

Once I was done with this little experiment, I took that daisy stamp and some book paper….a couple of Lindy’s sprays and went to town!  I started out by drenching my page with my Caribbean Blue and Luscious Lime Lindy’s sprays and then letting them combine and drip to their hearts content!  I kept adding layers until I was happy with the results.  Then I took my book paper, some yellow paint and stamped my little daisy stamp from Andy.  I LOVED them!!  This is such a cool stamp and I know it’s going to be one I’ll be gravitating too allot in the future.  You rock Andy!!  🙂  I also added some book page leaves that I painted a lime green….although they kinda look yellow…..oh well.

IMG_2247 (2)

I hand wrote out the quote which I think fits perfectly with the page.  I used my charcoal pencil around the flower, the leaves and the edges of the page.  I doodles some swirly thingy’s and TAA DAAAA!!  This page makes me very happy with I look at it.

Check out that drippage and spray splatter I also added.  :o)

IMG_2249 (2) IMG_2250 (2)

Okay….I’m off to go and help hubby clean out our shed before winter.  Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by!

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

4 responses »

  1. Fabulous pages Yvonne!!! Love how you framed the main parts in the first with the blue, pink and brown. Looks great!! Love your sentiment too. The colors in the second are some of my favorites. I love the dripping paint effect in the background and sentiment. Fabulous!!! ~Sophia

  2. Eddyth Sue is awesome, and I love how the page turned out, you give great doodle my friend! lol Glad your back from your vacation, waving hi from the hills of North Carolina ♥

I love hearing from you!!

