The apron challenge

Standard

Oh boy…….ever get the feeling you’ve bitten off more than you can chew?!  This is what happened last night.  Over on Tracy’s Mixed Media Mondays Facebook group, she sells these wonderful canvas aprons that are such good quality.  Check them out here if you’re interested in one for yourself!  Now Tracy had this thing (actually, more of an OCD tendency) about not wanting to get any paint on her apron and every Monday when she has her weekly classes on Ustream (come and join us as we have a lot of fun and Tracy rocks out a page each week), we would all bug her and try and get her to put some paint on that apron of hers!!  Well Lori finally came up with a BRILLIANT idea and actually challenged Tracy to an “Apron-Off”.  Check out Lori’s blog here as she did an amazing job on hers.  Anyone that knows Tracy, knows she can’t say no to a challenge, so the two of them were off and painting!!  Check out Tracy’s apron here on her blog…..she also did an amazing job on hers!  I commented on how awesome an idea it was on Tracy’s Facebook group and BAM!!!…..the challenge was put out by Tracy for all of us with an apron to also grab ours and paint it.  Sooooo…….because Tracy has been really getting me to step outside my comfort zone with my painting and just “Let It Go” and paint  (Although my apron already had a bit of paint and Gesso on it)……I had to take up the challenge as well.  I consider Tracy a great friend and I value our friendship so very much.  So here it is……does it not just scream out as a blank canvas begging to be used.

IMG_2270

 

One VERY BIG blank canvas.  One VERY BIG INTIMIDATING blank canvas and by FAR the biggest one I’d ever painted on.  But I’d committed to Tracy to paint mine…..so here it was, just staring at me.  I don’t own any fabric paints and only have the cheap Dollar Store acrylic paints to paint with (which suits me just fine….except for this project).  So I decided to try and ‘paint’ my apron with some of my Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays.   I decided to use one of my Flat Fabio sets and these colors:  Luscious Lime, Plumeria Pink , Caribbean Blue and Hibiscus Rose.  Needless to say, once I was done I pretty much have to buy a new set of them as three of the four is now almost empty.  LOL.  I kinda knew what I wanted it to look like when I was finished, but wasn’t really sure how to accomplish it as I’d never ‘painted’ using my sprays before and I wanted the apron to be one cohesive blending of colors.  So I enlisted the knowledge of my good friend and Lindy’s guru Limor Webber.  She just came out with her own set of Lindy’s Stamp Gang products that is a-MAZ-ing and you really do need to check it out…..it’s awesome! This woman does amazing work and I’m honored to call her a friend.  Here is a link to her blog with the announcement for the launch of the set just last week!  And here’s a link to the Lindy’s store where you can shop for these amazing sprays.  They’re honestly the best ones out there!  Anyway, back to the apron!  So with Limor’s help I got to spraying my apron.  ALOT of water got spritzed onto the apron and ALOT of Lindy’s was also sprayed.  I ended up with one very wet and very colorful apron…..and my heart was pounding as I wasn’t sure I really liked it!!  Into the dryer it went to dry it and see how it looked once dried.  I loved the pocket….but the rest of the apron was just too light…..sooooo out came the water and more spray!!  And I went to it.  I was already committed by this point and really didn’t have much to lose…lol.  Back into the dryer it went and back to pacing and sweaty palms as I waited for it to dry once again.  While it dried I took a piece of cardboard and drew out a flower, cut it out with my craft knife and had my stencil for the flowers I wanted to put along the bottom of my apron.  Apron was dried…..flowers were then sprayed on…..black acrylic paint was added and TA DAAAA……

IMG_2293

 

…..my apron was done!!  I loved it…..was sooooo happy I did it and had very colorful hands and fingers.  I think I’ll be pink and green for a few days as I try and wash it all off….lol.   I added some black paint splatter once I was done and called it finished!  I’m also wondering if I’m going to end up with some colorful undies the next time I dry a load of laundry in my dryer now……ooppsss.

Here’s some close ups of the apron:

IMG_2280 IMG_2281 IMG_2296

 

Thank you so much for stopping by once again.  Love you guys!!

Huggsss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

6 responses »

  1. what a great idea! My kitchen apron looks like someone dropped paint all over it…I bought the material because of this…now no one will notice how much I spill on myself!

  2. Love the apron and am still smiling at the procedure.. .. And you will have to let us know if the undies turn out pink or techniicolor…lol… Just appoint of interest:
    your can get a fabric blender to mix with the acrylic paint and it works great.. and even washes and dries well…

I love hearing from you!!

