Experimenting…..and starting over….

Standard

We’re up at our cabin for the weekend and can you believe it’s snowing this morning!!!  I’m soooo not ready for snow yet….ugh.  😉

I’ve been dying to play with my new Lindy’s Stamp Gang spray set called Industrial Chic created by Limor Webber.  This set is hands down one of my favorite sets and I LOVE the colors!!!  I wanted to do my challenge page for Limor’s Facebook group which called for the use of lace and some sort of journaling.  I started out by adding too much color right away and that started the downward spiral….lol.  I tried to do a white wash over it to tone it down a bit…..I tried added a white stencil to tone down the color…..I tried adding butterflies to take some of the focus….added the quote….some charcoal pencil.  Ya, it just wasn’t working for me at all!!!  Here’s what I ended up with and just didn’t like it….LOL.

IMG_2374

I just wasn’t happy with the way the color ended up and finally gave up!  I ripped all the flowers off the page…..the butterflies….the quote and cut the page out of my Art Journal book.  I was going to throw it out and then thought….just Gesso over it and see what happens!  So I put two coats of Gesso over it and let it sit overnight.  I really wish I’d taken a picture of it Gesso’d over as it was actually kind of nice just like that as a lot of the color bled through and mixed with the Gesso.   I started over again and this time just added a little color at a time, allowing it to drip a bit and drying it as I went along.  I used one of my new Deco Arts stencils this time and I like the stencil, just not real impressed with the light weight of it as it made cleaning it difficult and some of the edges bent a bit.  The white texture paste soon turned a sort of green/teal color as it bled though, so I took some white acrylic paint and went over it to try to make it more white again.  It sort of worked….lol.  I was trying to get the colors to show up a bit more so I added a bit more…..ya, should have stopped and left well enough alone.  The cycle started once again and I ended up with a sort of army green color again as I used too much over top of each other.  I tell you….this is one learning curve page for me!!!!  I added my flowers back onto my page, the quote and decided to add some white drips from the top of the page.  In a last desperate attempt to save the page I took some of the Time Travel Teal and the Rusty Lantern Lime and added some drips by screwing off the caps and applying the color directly from the plastic tube for the sprayer.  It’s at this point I decided to leave well enough alone and just be done with this page and move on….LOL.  Here’s my second attempt:

IMG_2375

Not a lot of difference!  I do love my flowers though!  I went to a Thrift Store in the small town of Lanigan and hit the jackpot with a few doilies that had some pretty cool flowers I could cut out and use.  I also found the very cool chevron shaped lace there too!  The small teal ones were actually white and I sprayed them with the darker teal spray called Time Travel Teal and I really love the color of them! Even the little green leaves were cut from these doilies.   I added some small Prima pink flowers to the cluster as well.   So, I’m officially done playing with this page…..I’m going to try again on the other side of it to get the results I see in my head……and I’m also going to put the page back into my Art Journal and “Let It Go”!!

So, my journey will continue…..there was a time when I would have thrown this all out and never thought about it again and certainly wouldn’t have shared it on my blog for anyone to see…..lol.  All part of learning to let it go and just enjoy the process.

Thanks for coming along with my on my little journey…..I’m off.

Huggsss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

6 responses »

  1. Proud of you for letting ago, abeit the internal fight you had with yourself in order to do so~ lol I love the doily flowers, what a find!! waving hi from the hills of North Carolina ♥

  2. So very cool… Love the explanation of this journey.. I think we can all relate in some way.. Your page will always bring a smile when you browse I am sure.. and that is what it is all about.

I love hearing from you!!

