Learning to fly….

Standard

I have a friend who is on the Frosted Designs Design Team (that’s a mouthful!!).  Today was her debut on their blog for a new weekly YouTube tutorial on Mixed Media and it’s called “Sunday’s with Sandee“.  Check it out!  She did a fantastic page and when I sat down to do my page I had every intention of following her lead.   Then I started looking through paper stacks and pulled out a few sheets and kept changing my mind.  I finally had an idea when I came across a sheet in my 8×8 Antiquities designed by Donna-Salazar Designs for GCD Studios.  I tore it out and ripped it into strips to adhere to my page.  Once down I started out by spraying the page down with a light coat of Mango Mania Flat Fabio and dried it.  I had an idea of having pops of orange poking through my page.  I also wanted a bit of copper color so I took one of my old favorites I hadn’t used in a while, Incandescent Copper Moon Shadow Mist and gave the page a few spot applications.  I let it sit on the page for a bit and then spritzed it with a fine mist of water and tilted the page to allow it to drip.  As the spray was dripping over the page I was REALLY loving the look of the copper lines it was creating as I dried it.  My entire design idea shifted and I grabbed 2 of my other old favorites I’d been neglecting for a while, my Burnished Brass Moon Shadow Mist and my Bluebeard Blue Violet Moon Shadow Mist and started spraying layer after layer and creating an almost marble effect as each layer dried and dripped around the page.  I’m really going to have to start taking pictures of my pages as I go along instead of just the completed page….lol.  The page I’d chosen had a pretty angel wing image in the bottom corner that I’d fussy cut out as I had an idea to do a journal quote about wings.  I decided I wanted the wings to be teal so i took my Shabby Turbine Teal and Time Travel Teal Starburst sprays from my Industrial Chic set and gave the wings a couple of spritz’s of color.  I dried them up and laid them on the page.  I really liked the look of the teal again the coppery/brass colored background and decided to see what would happen if I spritzed some teal onto the page as well.  I took the Time Travel Teal and gave it a few concentrated spritz’s and let it sit and pool and mix somewhat with the copper/brass colors.  WOW…..LOVED IT!!  I allowed it to merge and run a little bit around the page and then I started to dry it.  I soaked up some excess as I went along but not much at all.  The dried and finished result was awesome!!  I took some of my Rub ‘N Buff that I’ve had for a while and never used and highlighted a few areas around the page.  I liked the effect but thought I’d maybe used too much (first time I’d ever used it) so I went over some of the spots by rubbing some back acrylic paint over it with my fingers…..much better.  It gave it a muted highlighted effect that I preferred much better.  I found the quote I wanted to use and decided I needed some butterflies to go on the page.  I had a sheet of stamped butterflies my mom had given me a while ago and decided to paint three of them with a combination of Shabby Turbine Teal, Rusty Lantern Lime and Mango Mania Flat Fabio with a touch of A Bit o’ bubbly Star Burst over it for a bit of shimmer.  I painted a couple of coats to give them a deeper color and them spritzed them with a layer of the Steel Shimmer.  HOLY COW did I LOVE the effect that gave the butterflies!   It just gave them this rich tone that just lent themselves perfectly to the page!!! Once I had the quote done I decided the angel wings needed something more so I spritzed three chipboard gears from Dusty Attic with the Rusty Lantern Lime and adhered them and then gave the wings a light layer of the same spray by painting it on over the teal colors.  Much better…..lol.  So…….here’s my page!!

IMG_2489

 

I did some light highlighting on the angel wings with my Uniball Signo pen as well as on the butterfly wings and the butterfly trails.  Check out these close-ups of the depth of color on this page!!!

IMG_2493 IMG_2492

 

And here’s a close up of the butterflies…..I really love how they turned out.

IMG_2495

 

So, there you have it.  I’m not sure if this is what Sandee meant by either using her page as inspiration or something of our own…..this is definitely something of my own Sandee!!

Thanks once again for sticking with me…….I appreciate all of you who stop by.  🙂

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

One response »

I love hearing from you!!

