Sunday’s with Sandee…..to size or not to size

Standard

This is week two of playing along with Sandee on her new weekly Sunday segment at Frosted Designs.   This week she was talking about sizing your paper before you paint on it.  What’s the difference to a page if you Gesso first or if you don’t.  I thought I’d give this little experiment a bit of a test on side by side journal pages.  The page on the left was Gesso’d and the page on the right wasn’t.  i used the same colors although the page on the left was done with mostly the negative of  the stencils I used (the top part of the stencil that collects all the paint/sprays)  I used a couple of the sprays from the Industrial Chic set and then a couple other ones.  I used Shabby Turbine Teal and Rusty Lantern Line from that set and then also added in some Mango Mania Flat Fabio and some Cheshire Cat Cherry Starburst from the Mad Hatter set.  I used a few of my own homemade stencils along with a couple my friend Eve from the Netherlands made for me.  The only thing I did different with the sprays as I added them was when I sprayed the Cheshire Cat Cherry on the page on the right I left it as is and dried it.  The page on the right I sprayed it onto a baby wipe first and then added it to the page through the stencil.  The page was already fairly muted so I didn’t want to chance spraying on such a strong red color directly on the page.  As you can see…..quite a contrast between the two pages.  I added a couple of stencil words and designs in White Acrylic paint.

IMG_2563

 

Here’s some close ups of the two pages and a couple showing the incredible shimmer they each have.

IMG_2558 IMG_2559

 

Here’s a portion of the shimmery butterfly!

IMG_2562

 

IMG_2561

 

I tried to keep this post a little shorter…..I didn’t want Sandee’s mind to wander again…..LOL.

Thanks once again for popping in.

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

8 responses »

  1. this is a very interesting post. I’ve always gessoed, but from what I can see the non-gessoed side has a more intense color. both are gorgeous, it’s just they seem opposite of what I thought gesso did for color. hmmm, I’m going to have to experiment more. I do love how using the negative stencil along with the same inks/sprays side-by-side made such a great journal layout!

    • Kim, I hope you pop on over to the Frosted Design page and take a peek at my video 🙂 If you play along, I would love to see what you did aand what you thought about it.

      • Okay, but I don’t know what you mean by the Frosted Design page. can you help me out please? I’d love to check it out.

  2. OK…will have to remember to mute myself when reading your post ( I’m at the library!! ) that last comment about keeping it shorter made me laugh out loud!! I LOVED that you tried this technique, it really does change things up, doesn’t it? Your pages look fabulous, as always!!

I love hearing from you!!

