I’m not a journaler…..

Standard
I’m not a journaler…..

I really wish I was an everyday, write in my journal kinda gal.  I am not and have tried to be so often, only to have the journal just sit there after a few days being ignored and feeling abandoned.   I was reading one of my friends blogs the other day and she just uses a page in a little art journal every once in a while and journals about her week….her day…..whatever!  There’s no pressure to have to have something written everyday and she has no rules about format.  The particular page she showed had a weeks worth of journaling recap on a two page spread and it looked awesome and also chronicled her week.  I decided to do just that.  Just write about my day when the mood hits me and forget about it if it doesn’t.  I had received some stencils from my mom and played with the flower one and also decided to see if I could incorporate some of the rolls of handmade sort of crinkly paper she’d also given me.  She has a friend that goes over to Thailand quite often and she usually brings back some home-made papers and embellishments when she comes home and shares some with Mom.  They’re very pretty.  Here’s what I came up with.  Not a fantastic page, but I like it none the same and it was perfect for journaling on!

IMG_2582

I’d also received a new shipment of Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays and decided to turn the page and just spray them down and see what happens.  I LOVED the background it was creating.  I have some book paper scraps where I’d used some alcohol inks on top of a leaf stamp to make some fall leaves and ended up not using them.   I randomly tore them up and ModPodged them to the page.  I continued to spray, add some water to blend them together and sprayed some more!  One of the colors I received was the Toto’s Tornado Black Flat Fabio and was trying to figure out a way to try it without covering up the whole page.  I took one of the stencils I cut myself on my Cricut of random letters.  I also decided to write out some positive affirmation words within each of the letters on the left page from the letter stencil I used.  I like how the original background still shows through the letter stencil.  I did the same thing on the right page and then traced around each letter to define it more.  I love the odd spot of red poking through from the leaves I started out with.

IMG_2584

Here’s a close up showing some of the words and a better view of the background poking through the black.

IMG_2587

The Lindy’s sprays I used were the Jack in the Pulpit Teal, Caribbean Blue, Luscious Lime and Toto’s Tornado Black.

Thanks once again.  :o)

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. Now did you not have fun!!! So nice just be able to do.. and then see what happens…….Love what you did…..Those stencils are very nice love the journaling idea..

  2. I think most of us are afraid of failure so when we try to keep up with something and we can’t we let it get us down. I am taking your advice and just do the journal when inspiration strikes! Love your artwork!

I love hearing from you!!

