Creative Lettering

Standard
Creative Lettering

I’ve been MIA for the last week or so while I was helping our oldest son hang the drywall on his ceiling of his new house he’s building so he could get the insulation blown into the attic and get the heat turned on.  I have to say I’ve become quite handy with the tools and can handle myself quite well with any of the power tools needed to construct a house and can hammer next to most men.  I have fallen off a ladder in the past and split my thumb open with a hammer…..but we won’t dwell on that…..lol.

I’ve been dying to follow Sandee on her Sunday’s with Sandee video’s and tutorials for the last two weeks here and here on the Frosted Designs Blog.  I finally had a chance this evening to grab my paints and just play.  Actually, I grabbed my Gelato’s and my water-color crayons to be exact.  I made my background following her video tutorial called ‘Going Dotty’ and then grabbed my black Faber Castell Pitt Pens for my lettering following her written tutorial called ‘Typography & Lettering’.  I love to play around with different fonts and this was a particular fun double page spread to do.  Here’s what I came up with:

IMG_2597

I did the background base with some random Gelato’s and dried it.  Then I took my medium-sized dot stencil I made for myself using my Cricut and grabbed some more random Gelato’s and put the circles on.  Then I took another home-made stencil with various sized of larger dots and colored them in with some water-color crayons and blended them in.  I then took my black acrylic paint, my stipple brush and two more home-made stencils being the various sizes and shapes of butterflies and my silhouette lady, all cut out using my Cricut.  I doodled around the larger circles and did my lettering and yup…..calling them both done!  Here’s what each individual page looks like:

IMG_2600

IMG_2601

Looking at the pages now I prob should have added some black and/or white small paint splatters and I may still go back in and do that.  We’ll see….lol.

That’s it for now…..I’m off to bed.  Thanks once again for coming by to take a peek.  I appreciate you all very, very much!

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

2 responses »

  1. This is freakin awesome, I really love how the lettering changes from black to white on the girl. Great drippy butterflies and love the pastel colors! Thank you so much for your continued support and art!

I love hearing from you!!

