Dipping into my Prima vault

Standard

I was on Skype with Limor this evening and decided I needed to create something while she cleaned her studio.  I decided to grab some of the yummy goodies I’d received in my Prima package I’d ordered and actually use them instead of hoarding them.   I started out with a couple of pieces of 12×12 paper from the Londonerry Collection called “Parlor Games’ and ‘Courier’.   I ripped a few pieces off the paper and adhered them kind of all over my page using my Golden Matte Medium.  Although you can’t really see those papers on the page anymore…..they add great texture.  I also opted not to Gesso this page before I started as I wanted my Lindy’s sprays to remain they’re bright colors and not look faded out.  I then took some……okay, a lot of my Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays and used a couple from the Mad Hatter set along with a few other sprays as I went along and just started to spray.  I started with the Tea Pot Purple, the Cheshire Cat Cherry and the Mad Hatter Mint.  I really loved the look of the Tea Pot Purple and the Cheshire Cat Cherry…..wasn’t too keen on the look of the Mad Hatter Mint for this page.  I opted for one of my favorite Flat Fabio’s called Luscious Lime  and that gave me the pop I was looking for.  I applied layer after layer and dried between each one until I arrived at the intensity I was looking for.  I have a bunch of 12 x 12 papers that have been cut into different designs that I’ve been using as stencils.  I believe they’re intended purpose if to be an overlay of some sort on a page, but I could never see myself using them for that, so I just use them as stencils.  It had a flower design and I applied some Modeling paste to the page in a few random places and heat set it.  Some of the colors from the sprays ran through the paste and I was fine with that as I wanted more the texture than all the white paste look.  I took another stencil, a 6×6 one I’d made using my Cricut to cut it out, with a sort of little triangle shapes all over it and filled in a couple of the bare spaces.  Again, some of the sprays bled through.

I took my Stazon ink and a couple of my Kaisercraft stamps called Flutter and 36 and randomly stamped those images onto the page to give it a bit more depth.

Next I took some of my chipboard pieces and colored them with my Lindy’s sprays.  The tree branch with the bird I can’t remember where I got it from, and I used Dark Chocolate Truffle to color in the branch and used Cheshire Cat Cherry, Caribbean Blue and the Luscious Lime to color in the two birds.  The birdcage, which is from Dusty Attic, was colored using my Crow’s Nest Copper color shot.  I also used that same color shot to color in the medallion chipboard at the top of the page…..again, I’m not sure who makes that particular chipboard as I received it in a swap and can’t remember who she said had made it.  The little rose and bling clusters along the branches were from a Prima ‘Say It In Crystals’ set.  The three dangle charms are Prima Vintage Trinkets and the flower vines are also from Prima and were called Gracie Vine. (I cut it into two – a Limor trick) in order to use it in both corners.

I outlined the edge of the page, and around all the chipboard pieces with some black Gelato.  I’m really starting to love my black Gelato and rarely take my charcoal pencil out anymore.   I think this is the first Art Journal page where I didn’t journal anything on it!

So, here’s what the finished page looks like:

IMG_2926

Here’s a few close-ups to show you some of the layers/colors on this  page!

IMG_2929

 

IMG_2930

 

IMG_2931

 

So. there you have it…..I’m trying hard to use my favorite things on my pages instead of hoarding them forever.  It’s getting easier, but still a way to go!

I’m off now…..thanks for sticking with me through three posts in one day!!!  I feel better now.  😉

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

8 responses »

  1. My goodness, Skyping again and I BEG you to skype with me…….snort…..I LOVE your page it’s beautiful and would have made a sumptuous canvas!! Those charms hanging from the branch are just too cute! waving hi from the sunny hills of North Carolina ♥

  2. I so love all the elements here.. the colours.. the birds and the cage… (we have 2 left).. modeling paste and layers, the vibrancy of the sprays… the GORGEOUS Prima flowers, and my most favorite part.. The LOCKET CHARM DANGLES!!! You worked this out!!!

  3. So beautiful Yvonne! Love the bird and cage the colors are beautiful. I havent ordered Lindy’s yet, I dont know which ones to start with, I love all their colors. Thanks for sharing cant wait for spring to get here now since seeing your page…I LOVE it… Hugs…Patti

I love hearing from you!!

