The cover….

Standard

Well, we got our first ‘lesson’ in the Facebook group for Joanne Sharpe’s “The Art of Whimsical Lettering” book.  We were to take our simple Composition Notebook and design the cover.  We could write and do whatever we wanted on it.  I hadn’t really thought about doing my cover yet, and I was on Facebook last evening talking to Sandee and egging her on to give me an idea of what to just sit and create.  She told me to go and find some supplies to collage with.  I found a BUNCH of things…..ya, I don’t normally do things small.  She told me to spread all my goodies out on the floor, close my eyes and pick three things.  GULP.  I panicked….she thought I’d made great pics and told me to get to  collaging the cover.  I took the main piece and tore it up into pieces and adhered it to the cover.  I took the second sheet which was a collage sheet of different pieces of art a friend of mine had done where she scanned her work in…..and then arranged it all on a collage sheet with different size copies of some of her pages.  I tore each image out and began to try to arrange them onto the collaged cover.  Soooo….exactly how many times and different ways can you arrange and re-arrange 7 pieces of art around on a page.  ALLOT!!!!!  After about the 10th re-arrangement last night, I went to bed.  I started back on it this evening and with a few more suggestions from Sandee, I got it completed.  I’m really looking forward to this class and learning some different lettering styles and shapes.  Here’s what I came up with:

IMG_2965

 

I like the depth of the background.  I’m very much looking forward to this class!!  I just can’t wait to get my copy of the book!!

Thanks for popping your head in…..I loved having you.  :o)

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. Your cover looks great love the different lettering you put on the front, I see some letter tracking there. I am yet to do mine have to find a book.. I am enjoying the facebook group too lots of inspiration to be had.. Looking forward to getting my book, think it will be well used..
    Sandy 🙂

  2. I LOVE YOUR COVER!!!!! am jealous of your writing and am waiting to see what is coming next…. Thanks for sharing Sandy’s advice. I have not done much collage and that helped a lot as to how to get started.. Great work… LOVE IT

I love hearing from you!!

