Abstract Art Journal page

Standard

After Limor Webber’s Ustream class of Tuesday evening, I’ve wanted to try my hand at the abstract art technique she taught.  Check out the recording on her YouTube channel here.  I loved the canvas she did and although I didn’t brave it on a canvas, I did do attempt a page in my Art Journal.  I really like how it turned out!   For the background I started out with a couple of pieces from a black/grey and white napkin and then added a bunch of random paint to cover the page.  I used some of my Liquitex Basic’s acrylic paints in Brilliant Yellow Green, Primary Yellow, Canmium Orange Hue and Prism Violet.  I them stamped random images with my StazOn to help fill in the background and add texture.  I also stamped a few random sayings onto the page as well.  I took some Liquitex acrylic Primary Blue and Naphthol Crimson and also randomly applied some smudges with my fingers to the page.  I then took a couple of round containers and some Liquitex Mars Black acrylic paint and outlined certain spots on the page and then doodled around them with my white Unibal Signo pen.  Had a blast with this page and really felt like I was outside my comfort zone.  Here’s the napkin I used on my background.

IMG_2981

 

And here’s my page…..

IMG_2975

 

Here’s a couple of close-ups of the colors and textures in the background.

IMG_2978 IMG_2977

 

Had a blast…..may even try this on a canvas one day….lol.

Thanks for popping in…..I’m off to go and find something else to play with in my craft room.  :o)

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

2 responses »

I love hearing from you!!

