Mail Art

Standard
Mail Art

I had some fun the last couple of evenings following along with Sandee and trying my hand at some mail art.  I’ve been wanting to give it a try for a while now and thought it was about time I did another one of Sandee’s tutorials before she unfriends me!!  Over on the Frosted Designs blog they have a weekly segment called Sunday’s with Sandee, and honestly, if you’ve never checked it out, you need to.  She does amazing work! I’ve been having some fun with layering paints and stamps and tissue paper, etc and thought I’d just keep with that theme for my mail art.  I used my Liquitex Basics acrylic paints, some stamps and my Stazon ink pad.  I also did my doodling with one of my new Pilot Perma Ball pens, which is an amazing and my trusty Unibal Signo white gel pen.  Of course…..how can you do a bunch of layering techniques and not grab the bubble wrap?  I made three envelopes using all the same colors, just different pieces of the Tim Holtz tissue wrap and on one of my envies I used a collage piece as well.

Here’s a peek at mail art #1 – Front

IMG_2989

 

Envelope #1 – Back

IMG_2992

For envelope #2 I had a scrap of the tissue wrap that had a big butterfly on it….I thought it would look great on the front of the envelope.

IMG_2993

The back of envelope #2

IMG_2995

For envelope #3, I had this collage girl I’ve had sitting on my desk for a while now and I’ve really wanted to use her on something….so this envelope is where she finally found a home.  I tried to mimic the swirls on her dress with the paint…

IMG_2996

And the back of this one…

IMG_2997

So, there you have it.  My little run at mail art…..I think I’m going to have a hard time leaving an envelope plain now!!!  They were a lot of fun!

Thanks for stopping by….till next time!  :o)

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

6 responses »

I love hearing from you!!

