9/11….

Standard

Over on Sandee Setliffs FB group, Mixing It Up Everyday, her challenge for this month was to ask ourselves where we were that day and then do a journal page about it.  I will never forget that day.  I had just got home the night before.  I had just buried my Dad who had passed away.  I was still trying to process that and come to terms with it.  I woke up to the radio alarm with the news reports already flooding every media form.  A plane had just flown into the World Trade Centre.  Even though I’m a Canadian, our border disappeared that day and the days that followed.  What?!!  WHY?!!!  My heart sank even lower.  How do you even begin to process such an event.  How do you even begin to make sense of it.  My Dad passing away had a reason.  There were events leading up to it……it made sense.  It didn’t make it easy to process and my heart was aching.

This page wasn’t about the products used for me.  It wasn’t about who’s store I’d purchased them at. It wasn’t about tags, comments or how many hits I get.  It wasn’t about ability.  I KNOW this isn’t my best page…..I’m just not a painter and that is PERFECTLY fine.  This page is about the emotion of that day and the days that followed.  It’s about what came out of both events for me.  As nations coping….. and as a family coping……

We prayed.

We rose above.

We came together.

We reached out.

We loved.

We prayed…….

IMG_3612

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

5 responses »

  1. What you wrote gave me shivers! Don’t think we will ever forget that day! Even worse for you with your dad passing away. Hugs.

  2. I cannot imagine going through this event right after having to bury your dad. What a double whammy for you.Life sure does pile it on for us sometimes. Love you girl!

  3. So well written and expressed.. You do that so well. It was a very dark time.. Love your painting as well… You can paint you know :)…..and the prose was good too… Did I say I love this post!!!!

I love hearing from you!!

