A new Art Journal journey….

Standard
A new Art Journal journey….

Well, I’ve finally completed my first full art journal and have started a new one.  I’ll post the final pictures of the first one another day.  This new journal is being done in a beautiful old encyclopedia I picked up at our local Good Will store.  I absolutely LOVE the from cover and spine of this book……the texture and ‘sculpting’ on the front cover is amazing!!  The pages inside are relatively thick so I only need to glue two pages together to give me a good solid base to do my mixed media on.  This is what the front cover and spine look like….

IMG_3749IMG_3750

Isn’t it gorgeous??!!!!

When I was at Limor’s place a few weekends ago, I picked up some Prima Art Basics Heavy Gesso in black.  I’ve always wanted to play with and try black, and decided to make this the first page I completed in this new journal.  I started out with one idea while I was in Edmonton, but it just wasn’t working out the way I had it in my head and ended up coming home and just Gessoing over it….hence why I love Gesso!  Then I decided I wanted to try a sort of water color effect and put down a very light layer of white Gesso so I’d have an area to stamp my poppies onto.  I used two of my Lindy’s Stamp Gang Magicals and used them as water colors.  I used the a Flat Magical in Aloha Avacado and a shimmer Magical in Time Travel Teal.  I used a couple of my background stamps that I’d picked up from Limor’s store as well just to add a bit more depth to the pages.  All of the supplies I used on this double page can be purchased from Limor’s store, except for the poppy stamp which I’ve had for a while from Stampin’ Up! The link for her store is found here.  Other supplies I used were my Faber Castell PITT artist pen big brush in black, my Faber Castell PITT artist pen in white, and my Stabilo All pencil for some shading around the flowers, stems and quote.  Here’s what the finished product looks like:

IMG_3747

I really like how these pages turned out.  Will probably use this technique again!

Thanks for popping your head in…..until next time!  I’d love to hear what you think.  🙂

Huggsss,

Yvonne

Supplies used:

Prima Art Basics Heavy Gesso Black

Faber Castell Design Memory Craft Gesso

Lindy’s Stamp Gang “Industrial Chic” Magicals by Limor Webber Designs – Time Travel Teal

Lindy’s Stamp Gang “Hawaiian Islands” Flat Magicals – Aloha Avacado  (Not available in Limor’s store at this time)

Deep Red Cling Stamp Water Droplets

Kaisercraft “Arty” Background Stamp

Faber Castell Stamper’s Big Brush PITT pen – Black

Faber Castell Stamper’s Big Brush PITT pen – White

Stabilo All charcoal pencil  (Not available in Limor’s store at this time)

Pleasabt Poppies stamp from Stampin’ Up!

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

4 responses »

  1. Wow, I love that cover and spine on that encyclopedia. I think I would have to leave it as is. And your pages are beautiful, I love that quote. Good job! And go back and see if they have more of those books LOL

I love hearing from you!!

