If the young only knew…..

Standard
If the young only knew…..

On a roll!!  We decided to stay home this weekend instead of going to the cabin.  Our oldest grandson had a hockey tournament today so we decided we’d go watch him play.  He’s 5 and it’s so cute watching them play and try their hardest to skate, handle the puck, pass and shoot while trying to stay upright on their skates.  He sure enjoys it.

After being in a creative slump for a few weeks it just felt so good to sit and create last evening and today.  I had started a double page in my up-cycled encyclopedia I’d picked up at our local Thrift Store and am having so much fun with it.  I had covered the background with a couple of colors of water color and did not like it at all.  I had a few bottle of Tim Holtz Distress Paint and thought, why not?!  Give it a try….there’s always Gesso.  ;o)

I used two colors, Fired Brick and Tarnished Brass.  Added them both fairly liberally to the pages, spritzed it with some water and let the two run together and create these awesome drippage marks.  I adhered my two images I’d fussy cut from some Designer paper, used one of my favorite Prima Stencils (#575946) with my Faber Castell Design Memory Craft Whipped Spackle to both pages and spritzed it with two colors of Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays, Steampunk Sepia and Dark Chocolate Truffle.  Once it was dried, I added some Faber Castell Design Memory Craft Glass Bead Glitter Gel in just a few places to add yet more texture and shimmer.  Stamped my quote from the Dylusions set called Quintessential Quote by Ranger using my Nougat FAber Castell PITT artist big brush pen as the stamping ink.  I quite like how this turned out after all.

IMG_4070

 

IMG_4071

 

IMG_4072

IMG_4069

 

This page took a few turns in the making, but am happy with the final result.

Comments are always appreciated.

Huggss,

Yvonne

PRODUCTS USED:

Faber Castell Gesso

Tim Holtz Distress Paint – from my stash

Prima Stone Wall 2 Stencil 6×6

Faber Castell Glass Bead Glitter Gel

Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays – from Limor’s store and my stash

Dylusions Quintessential Quotes by Ranger

Faber Castell Design Memory Craft PITT artist pen big brush – Nougat

 

 

9 responses »

  1. This is just beautiful. So glad you are out of your funk. I have been in one for far too long now. LOL. I love how this looks vintage and the quote…….so true! Great job!

  2. Honestly, this page is just stunning! I love, love the texture and the colors and the images you chose – it all works perfectly together. I’ve been sitting here just looking carefully at every detail that I can. You really have a great eye for putting things together. I loved your statement – there’s always gesso. Ha! I live by that. I’ve really enjoyed browsing around your blog. This is my first visit. And I really love that nature journal you made. Wow! You are so talented. And 5 grandkids -lucky! God bless!
    Tricia

I love hearing from you!!

