Daily Archives: February 8, 2015

Paint swatches?

Standard
Paint swatches?

Soooo, what do you do when you have a BIG box full of a hardware store entire line of old paint swatches??!!  You offer some of them up on a FB Happy Mail group, and then you start looking for ways to incorporate them into your own art work of course!!  I have a homemade art journal I put together using brown paper bags and big legal sized envelopes.  I’ve been using this journal for those wild and crazy ideas you come up with and have absolutely no idea how they’ll turn out or what they’ll look like.  So far, the entries into it have been pretty hideous….lol, but this evening I don’t even really mind this one!  It’s not fantastic, but it’s still pretty cool!

I started with a page I’d been using to slap down any extra paint I had left over on my palette after other mixed media projects, so it really was a mod podge of all colors that didn’t necessarily compliment each other.  The plan was to use it as a base for a background so I wasn’t too concerned with colors or placement when I did it.  I grabbed a couple of stacks of swatches and picked out a few I thought would go with the page.

IMG_4104

I adhered each one to the page using Gel Medium……

IMG_4106

Now this is the part I always forget to take pictures of as I go along!!!  I start creating on the page and just zone out the rest of the world and what I was planning on doing.  So, what I did was i took my big 12×12 Prima Bamboo stencil, some Faber Castell Whipped Spackle and covered the whole page with the stencil.  I then grabbed 4 of my Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays and started adding them randomly to the page over the stencil to tie all the colors together that were poking through beneath the stencil.  Once that was done and dried, I took a flower stencil by Plaid Folkart and sprayed it with my black LIndy’s spray.  I used my Craftsmart white paint pen and outlined the edges of the stencil image to make the flowers ‘pop’ off the page.  Here’s the finished page…..

IMG_4107

I keep looking at it thinking it needs more but can’t think of what to put on it without it looking like a hot mess and overly crowded.  Here are some close-ups of the texture and colors underneath!

IMG_4110

IMG_4109

IMG_4108

That’s it!!  Easy peasy…..quick and really no thought going into it…..just doing.

Let me know what you think……can I add anything else to it without going overboard?

Hugs,

Yvonne

Believe in something absurd….

Standard
Believe in something absurd….

Every once in a while I find an artist that really speaks to me and I’m drawn to anything and everything she creates.  Marta Lapkowska is that artist for me.  Here’s a link to one of her pages on her blog Maremi SmallArt and here’s a link to her amazing YouTube channel by the same name….Maremi SmallArt.  She takes the most unique things from her art studio and includes them in her art journal pages and scrapbook layouts.  You truly have to go check her out if you at all love Mixed Media and texture.  🙂

This evening I had been cutting up an old top I had to actually use some of the material in upcoming art journal pages.  As I was cutting the seams out and tossing them in the garbage I thought of Marta and wondered if those seams were something she would probably have kept.  I dug them out of the garbage and started adhering them to a new page in my upcycled encyclopedia I’ve been using.  I applied a light layer of gesso just in the middle of the pages and then grabbed my Faber Castell Design Memory Craft Whipped Spackle and a homemade honeycomb stencil and added some texture to the two pages.  I’ve had the Lindy’s Stamp Gang Mad Hatter set for some time now and haven’t really used many of the colors.  They’re very bold and I tend to stick to the more muted earth tones or pastel type colors.  There is a color called Tweedle Dee Denim which is a dark denim blue color that I don’t think I’ve ever used yet!  I decided to pair it up with the Tea Party Purple, which I’ve used allot and it’s almost gone, and see what the two would look like on a page.

Uh huh……I LOVED IT!!!!  This just may be my new favorite color combo!  Check out the page!

IMG_4094

I love, LOVE how the two colors married into each other and this picture honestly doesn’t even do it pages justice!  the quote is from a Dylusions set called ‘Quintessential Quotes’ by Ranger.  All of the supplies I used on these pages came from Limor Webber Designs on-line store.  I’ll have a list of products and links to the store at the end of this post.

Here are a few close ups of the pages…..

IMG_4097

IMG_4098

IMG_4095

It’s really too bad the camera doesn’t pick up the oh so subtle shimmer from the Tea Pot Purple Starburst spray.

So, there it is!!  Thanks for coming in and checking out my newest page.  I love when you leave me comments on your thoughts about my work.  Until next time……

Huggss,

Yvonne

Products Used:

Liquitex Gesso

Golden Regular Gel (Matte)

Faber Castel Design Memory Craft Whipped Spackle 

Catalyst Shaper Tool “01 Mini”  This is my FAVORITE tool to use when I’m using the Whipped Spackle.

Lindy’s Stamp Gang Mad Hatter spray set

Dylusions Quintessential Quotes by Ranger  One of my favorite quote stamp sets…..I’ve used this one allot!

Faber Castell Stamper’s Big Brush Pen – Black

Faber Castell Stamper’s Big Brush Pen –  Cold Gray III

Liquitex Professional Acrylic Ink – Carbon Black

Soft Grip Golden Taklon Fan Brush