I must really love butterflies. ;)

Standard
I must really love butterflies. ;)

Day 3 of our #90-day blog challenge!! Last evening we had all the family over for supper.  Our oldest son finished his last year of electrical school and thought it would be nice to have everyone over to celebrate.  We also had two of our 5 grandchildren stay for a sleep over which is always fun.  They even ‘helped’ us rake leaves for an hour or so.  I love having my grand-babies close…..so very blessed.  I do have to say, yard work is NOT something I enjoy and my body is so totally with me on this one at the moment.  My 55 year old body is really NOT impressed with me right now and is doing everything it can to let me know it too…..which I so appreciate.  (my oldest grandson likes to remind me quite often, “Grandma, you’re two 5’s, right?”)  I’m feeling more like two 8’s right now I think….lol.  Ibuprofen in most certainly my friend this evening…..and my ice pack.

I recently connected with a friend from town again a couple of months ago.  We’d met through a mutual friend and when that friend moved away we kinda drifted apart.  She found me through one of my Facebook groups called Journaling by 5’s when she was watching one of my video’s of the process.  She messaged me on FB and I can’t even tell you how happy I was to hear from her again…..and then to find out she’s a fellow Mixed Media artist was the icing on the cake.  We collaborate wonderfully together and have allot of fun when we get together.  We’ve been meeting probably once a week ever since.

She had found either a blog post or a YouTube video that was talking about Journal Prompt cards.  She immideately grabbed hold of the idea and just flew with it.  She made up a complete 52 deck of cards with 52 different journaling prompts on them to use whenever she had a creative block…or just because to change things up.  Well of course we had to give them a trial run!  She dealt out 5 cards for me and over to her place with my supplies I headed.  These are the 5 cards I received that evening:

2015-04-12 20.04.41

Now, I’d seen Karen’s set of Inktense Blocks, however, I’d never used them before so I was kinda happy to get this card.  WOW……Those blocks are so much fun and indeed intense!  I started my page out with some metallic paint I had that was actually suppose to be used to create a mirror effect.  Not so much on paper, which is what I wanted but with the metalic look.  I adhered some torn strips and pieces of under paper to the page and then took the Inktense blocks and used them as is….with water……through stencils……..with a stamp.  I took a butterfly mask I have and cut some circles from a sheet of light cardstock and then painted the background white, except where the circles and butterfly mask was.  Did some black pen work around the masked shapes and then added some of inktense block to some of my Faber Castel Whipped Spackle (my favorite paste medium.  ❤ )  and mixed it up.  Is there anything these blocks can’t do?!  Colored the spackle beautifully.  A few black ink splatters and some drippage and I called this puppy done!

IMG_4238

IMG_4239

IMG_4237

This was a very fun page to do and I believe it was not too long after that I went onto Amazon and purchased a set of my own.  I added some black pen work around the masked images and of course outlined the entire page with my Pitt Artist Big Brush pen and blended it in.

As always, I very much appreciate you stopping by and always appreciate any comments.  Have a blessed day.

Here are the links to the other friends who are doing this challenge as well.

Tamiko McCurry

Sandee Setliff

Donna Leuders

Sandy Beach

Sharon Estes

Hope you have a most fantastic day!!

Huggsss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

2 responses »

  1. Oh you are so lucky to have someone to art with! And you are doing a fantastic job with your pages, those inktense blocks really got you up and at ’em! LOL You are almost making me buy them, I have gone and looked at them so many times because of your posts but I told myself I can’t….I need to use up what I have LOL. Great post and HUGS, love ya!

I love hearing from you!!

