Choosing to shine

Standard
Choosing to shine

I’m on day number 6 in my #90daysofblogging !!  I’m seriously going to run out of things to blog about!  There may be a few posts where I just ramble…..about nothing…..at all…..hmmmm.

I tried my hand at another magazine collage art journal page.  No prompt cards……just sitting and creating from the heart.  I kind of wanted the background to have a sort of rough textured wall look.  I used my Super Heavy Gesso by Liquitex and applied it with a palette knife to give it the look I was looking for.  I took three of my Liquitex Basics acrylic paints in Burnt Siena, Burnt Umber and Yellow Oxide and used a sponge and applied the paint to cover the background completely.  I adhered the girl onto the page with my Golden Gel Medium.  I wanted to doodle on her and began with just the whispy lines in her hair….one thing lead to another…..and she was covered in dots!!  I quite like it and was okay with the look.  I’m not sure now I should have added the brick stencil….it’s okay, but I’m wondering if I would like it better without the white brick.  I may at some time go back and maybe add some color to them…..or not….lol.  I loved the quote and just felt it really applied to this page, especially with the ray of sunlight beaming across her face.  “If you don’t SHINE you’re just dull.  Choose to SHINE.”  Fitting, don’t you think?!  I’m not one to go out into a room and shine.  I much prefer to ‘observe’.  It’s not that I don’t go and talk to people…..I’m kind of a chatty one when you get me going…..I just don’t like the lime light on me……at all!

Here’s some close ups of the page and the final result….

IMG_4252

IMG_4252

IMG_4253

I love the look of collaged magazine images and there is one artist on YouTube who I love to watch.  I love what she does with her pages and love her style.  Check out her channel!  She goes by PackerDi.

So, day 6 of blogging is done…..what the heck am I going to do tomorrow?!!  lol

Thank you so much for sticking with me on this journey…..soooo appreciated.  Please feel free to let me know you were here.  😉

Also, take some time to check out my friends blogs who are also on this 90 day challenge with me.

Huggsss,

Yvonne

Tamiko McCurry

Sandee Setliff

Donna Leuders

Sharon Estes

Sandy Beach

4 responses »

  1. I love that page, and ya know, you could write about your grand kids…which I know you love to talk about, lol or that wonderful cabin ya’ll have, I’m sure there is an adventure or 2 that you could share with us!

  2. Love the page! Ohhhh, I would love to see pics of the inside of your cabin. I am sure it looks better than my house LOL, please post so I can drool. LOL But really, I would love to see some pics. Room by Room

I love hearing from you!!

