Try It Tuesday – #10

Standard
Try It Tuesday – #10

I’m sure my blog is having a heart attack right now as it’s been neglected for so long.  Story of my blog life!!  I’m at my cabin for this week on holidays and therefore cannot edit and upload videos, so it’s back to the good old written and picture tutorial!!.  Sandee Setliff……you should probably just quit reading now….this is going to be a long one!  LOL

This will be a picture heavy post as I took progress photos along the way until I can get home and upload the video.

A very good friend of mine who lives in the same small city as I do has a Facebook group called “All Things Mixed Media – CreativeKady”.  Hop on over and join us.  She does a great job and we are a very active group.  She has a challenge she puts out every second Tuesday and it’s centered around 6 prompts.  She draws from the prompt sticks she created (you can find that video here ) and then posts the prompts and the link to her recorded video of pulling the prompts.  Here is the list of this Try It Tuesday:

  1. Use craft paint
  2. Use a napkin
  3. Use a background stamp
  4. Mythological or fairy tale theme
  5. Use salt technique
  6. Use a font you haven’t used before

I decided to do this prompt on my tags I’ve been working on.  I have a box of flash cards Karen gave me when she was sorting through her teacher’s supplies.  I’ve been having so much fun altering them!  I had paper towel I had used to mop up extra paint with and adhered it to the card with Gel Medium. Here is what I started with:

PIC_0007

Next I sprayed down the card with some water and added some Red Purple acrylic paint by Amsterdam and them sprinkled some salt on it.  I allowed it to dry, and because I’m not the most patient person, I sped up the process with my heat gun.  You can sort of see the result….not what I was hoping, but I think it’s because of the paper towel background it was on.

PIC_0015

And because I can’t waste any left over medium, I sprayed the extra paint with some water and spread it on the craft mat and then wiped it up with a paper towel…..another great background in the making!

PIC_0013

Next, I adhered the napkin wings and my fairy girl to the tag using Mod Podge Gloss.  I wanted the wings to have the same gloss as the magazine girl did.

PIC_0016

After tearing away the excess napkin and magazine, I outlined the wings with my Unibal Signo White Gel pen.  I love how it just made the wings pop!

PIC_0019

And because I never do things in the right order or think ahead to determine what I want the finished product to look like…..I tried to add the background stamp in at this point.  It worked fairly good.  I used a makeup sponge and by gold paint and lightly dabbed it onto my script stamp and added it to the background around my fairy.

PIC_0020

Next, I stamped my image onto a piece of tissue paper.  A little stamping trick I learned from Tracy Weinzapfel, always apply ink to your stamp and stamp it off onto a piece of paper.  Ink it up again and repeat onto a scrap piece of paper.  THEN stamp onto whatever you want the finished stamped image to be on.  As she taught me, ink sticks to ink!  So the more times you ink it up and stamp it off (just stamp it off once before re-inking) the better the image will stamp for you.  As you can see from where my pen is pointing, had I stamped that first image onto my tissue paper, I’d of been stamping it again as the one work didn’t stamp out clearly.

PIC_0023

I tore out the sentiment as I find a torn edge will blend into the background better than a clean cut edge and I didn’t want the tissue paper to be all that noticeable.  I took my same gold paint and edged the entire card just to finish it off.  The sentiment stamp I used is one I’ve had for a long time and have never used…..ask Karen about that.  I have a few supplies I’ve purchased and have still never used them.  She is helping me get better at using what I have before I purchase more….sort of…..lol

PIC_0026

Thank you for coming along with my tag creation.  I’m off to finish the other side of this tag and then I can say I have another one complete!!

As always, I love to read your comments.  I’ll come back and add my YouTube video of this process once I get home and can edit it.

Hugs,

Yvonne.  🙂

 

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

2 responses »

I love hearing from you!!