Daily Archives: February 2, 2012

Oh boy……not sure if I like orange….

Standard

Hey my little blog friends!  I kinda thought I needed to do another card for this weeks Mix It Up challenge, which was to do a completely monochromatic card.  I’d bought this lovely ribbon in the $1.50 bin at Michael’s and I’ve been itching to use it.  My thought process was to use it on a non-monochromatic card, but I threw caution to the wind and thought, how hard could it be to make an all orange card??  So, learning my lesson from the white card, the first thing I checked out was ink…..yup, had a dark orangey ink that would work, check.  Orange paper, check.  Orange flower, check.  Let’s dig in…..

Isn’t this ribbon sooo darn cute!!  It has a very subtle pattern of little flowers on it.  I was in an embossed cardstock swap last fall and so I decided to dig through and see if I had a piece of orange embossed cardstock I could use.  Well, I found three differnt ones….couldn’t decide which one I wanted to use….so why not use all three!!  I have a piece from the ‘Country Foliage’ folder, one from the ‘In Bloom’ folder and one from the ‘Petals A Plenty’ folder.  Now I was smart enough to write down the names of the folders when I received my swap goodies…..not so smart as to also write down the name of the manufacturer…..ya.  I thought the card needed some bling as well……searched through my stash of bling…..no orange.  So I grabbed a clear bling swirl, my Ranger Alcohol Ink in Butterscotch and dabbed away at the top of the clear bling!  I put about three or four layers of color on it letting it dry between coats and had my ornagey bling swirl!!

 

 

I had this beautiful orange Prima Flower and I love it!  Just check out that orangey bling swirl…..pretty clever I am!!  The sentiment is from my Close To My Heart Sentiments set and is a two part stamp.  The front of the card says, “Faith is knowledge with the heart…..

The rest of the sentiment in on the inside of the card.

 

 

 

 

For the inside of the card I put a strip of the embossed cardstock and attached the second half of the sentiment to it….of course, with a little bit of bling on it….. 😉

The second half says, “beyond the reach of proof.  – Kahlil Gibran”

 

 

 

 

So, here’s the whole card…..it’s allot of orange.   For me, the jury is still out….

 

 

 

 

I’m off to post in my SCS Gallery and then go find my pillow.

Huggss,

Yvonne  😉