Another frenzie!!!

Standard

Hello Blog friends!  🙂  There’s been another frenzie of cardmaking happening again with our CAS (Clean and simple) challenge for this week.  No layers, no more than two colors of ink, no embellishments of any kind…..how hard could this be??!! 

I started out with a dark brown piece of cardstock from one of my Recolection cardstock packages from Michael’s and then grabbed my Versamark stamp pad.  I love this stamp pad and don’t use it near enough.  It’s not a color…..what it does is change the color of the cardstock you stamp it on to one shade darker.  Clever now aren’t I??  So technically, my images aren’t stamped in a color at all…..it’s like a watermark.  So that left me with my two colors of ink I could use.  This swirly flowery stamp is from Inkadinkado.  I grabbed my Ranger Distress Inks in Peeled Paint and Fired Brick.  I used my Stampin’ Up! blender pens and colored in just my flowers and my leaves.  I love the way the Distress Inks leave a very subtle color behind.

Aren’t these little butterflies cute??!!  This single little butterfly is part of a two sheet set of stamps from Close To My Heart called Sentiments.  I love this stamp set as it has soo many little sentiments that can be mixed and matched.  And a whole bunch of little images to use too…..love it!!  I colored them in with my Peeled Paint Distress Ink.  The little dotted trail for the butterflies was done using an embossing pen I have that works like the Versamark stamp pad…..just changes the color of the cardstock….teehee!!!

Here’s the sentiment I used on this card.  I love this one and found it in the $1.50 bin a Michael’s a while back.  It’s a Hampton Art Studio G stamp.  I stamped it in the versamark as well.

So, here’s the whole card.  I really quite like it with the subtle color mixed in with the images.    These cards would be allot cheaper to mail than my layered ones!!!

That’s it for tonight.  I’m off to get some cards bundled up to send to my mom and then hit the hay!!

Yvonne  😉

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

12 responses »

  1. Hey sis!! I am enjoying reading your blog even though I have no interest in card making!! :O) I absolutely love this card!! Way to go!! keep it up because you are very creative!! Who would have thought that hangin out in a “therapy room” would be so fun!!

    Love ya to the moon and back sis!!

    your baby sis,

    jo :o)

  2. This is quite stunnning Yvonne!! I love the fact U used a darker tone for you card base and how CLEVER to use Versamark on it!! Your card is STUNNING with those swiels, flowers and awesome
    sentiment…way to go gUrl! ♥

  3. That’s very cute, and I love the little loophole you found to use the Versamark pad to add detail without actual “color”. This shows that you don’t really NEED all the layers and and buttons and ribbons and brads to make something beautiful and meaningful. Very good job, totally love this card.

I love hearing from you!!