Trying to get back in the groove!!!

Standard

Hello my long lost blogging friends!!!  I was away on a holiday to Hawaii and oh my goodness!!!  Beautiful is all I can say!  It was our first time there and it did not dissapoint.  I took a TON of photos and I’m hoping to sort throught them this weekend and I’ll post some of my fav’s for ya!  I tell you, I sure missed this blogging stuff while I was away and I think the next time I go off on a holiday, I’m going to have to try and do some blogging while I’m away just so I stay in the groove…..geesh!!

 So, I’ve been trying to get back in the groove and was playing in my craftroom this evening and did a card up that I still can’t decide if I like or not.  I keep looking at it and thinking it needs something…..I have no idea what that something might be, but I finally gave up…..lol

 

 

I was playing with some cord and was thinking (as I do actually do that from time to time), instead of making a hat pin to put on the card, why not string the beads onto the cord and use that as one of the embellishments for the card……I kinda like it!!  The stamp is one from a set of four from Inkadinado called ‘In The Words’ and they’re all ‘negative’ stamps.  In our Mix It Up thread on SCS one of my friends purchased a beautiful negative butterfly swirly stamp and she was stumped as to how to incorporate it onto a card.  I love the look of the negative stamps so I thought, lets give it a try and see what I can come up with!  I stamped it in white and then tore it around the edges.  I attached it to a piece of fabric paper that I’d also torn and then curled the edges.

 

 

 

After I’d attached it to the card I didn’t like the look of just the small piece of black fabric paper around the stamped image, so I grabbed another piece of fabric paper and tore it to try and fill up some of the red ‘space’ I had that I wasn’t liking too much.

 

 

 

To this bigger piece of black I took a bamboo skewer and curled the corners on three sides to give it a bit more of an ‘old world’ feel to it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After I looked at the card for a bit I thought, this could be used for an anniversary card and I’ve had that ring charm for a long time, so I paired it up with a heart charm and tied that to some cord and attached it to the bottom of my card.

 

 

 

 

 

So hears what the whole card looks like.  I distressed the edges of the card and then inked it lightly with black.  I added three pewter looking brads to the one corner and that was it…..card done!  I’ve been using so much ribbon and bling lately that I kept wanting to go grab some, but this card just wasn’t lending itself to any of that, so simple it stayed! 

 

 

 

I have a bunch of SU cards I’d made the night before we left on our vacation and I’m going to try and get them downloaded tomorrow night and then I’m pretty much caught up as far as uploading any cards I’ve made. 

Thanks so  much for stopping by…….I missed you my blog friends!!! 

Huggss,

Yvonne   😉

 

 

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

4 responses »

  1. Oh I think you have found that groove!! This is very nice, love the paper, (we call that mulberry paper) The stamp is lovely and white is just perfect for it. The string is perfect too, love you work!!! Welcome back I have missed you!! 🙂

  2. Yvonne I am so happy to see you back at it! As usual you have given us something totally great to think about…. you have used some really interesting elements for this card and the distressed edges really add to the texture of the card. I love the vintage feel to it! Like Lauren, I am so happy you are back but I am so pleased you had a great time!!! WE WANT PICTURES WOMAN! GIVE GIVE!!! GIVE!!! 😉

  3. Hey sis! I love the heart and ring on the corner! And it does look vintage too! I also agree that we all would love to see your photos of Hawaii!! C’mon sis… hurry up!! :o) love ya

  4. Well great to have to back and see you have not lost your creative groove. Love the card . and Love the vintage look. you are so good at that… Great work.. Waiting for some more…

I love hearing from you!!