I Am An Artist……

Standard
I Am An Artist……

Four simple words……not ones that I feel comfortable with using to define what I do when I create though.  Over on Mixed Media Mondays with Tracy Weinzapfel she’s given us a challenge.  The challenge is for each of us to embrace the title of Artist and to create a page saying we are indeed an Artist.  When I think of the word artist, I picture in my mind someone who creates amazing pieces of art to sell or hang in galleries……that’s it!  I do not picture myself when I think of the word artist.  The dictionary defines artist:   artist – noun.   1.  a person who creates paintings or drawings as a profession or hobby. So I guess that means Tracy: 1  Me: 0.   So, once again I sat down last night after Tracy’s Ustream class and decided to create a page and write on it “I Am An Artist”.  How hard could it be?!  I grabbed my trusted Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays (one of my Limor Webber enabler vices I now have) and set out to create the page I had in my head.  This time it actually pretty much came out as I’d imagined it!  There’s a first for everything!  When Tracy was creating her page one of the girls on the chat mentioned how her page reminded her of looking into a cave and seeing the light shining in with the beautiful blues of water in the background.  So I grabbed my Time Travel Teal, Caribbean Blue, Luscious Lime and Pineapple Paradise and started spraying my page.  I added some sprays of water to get the colors blending and dripping down the page…..yup…..loved it!  I started out trying to draw some vines of leaves onto the page and then had a brain wave to use a couple of my leaf punches and some book pages.  I sprayed the leaves with some Rusty Lantern Lime and Steampunk Sepia and made some hanging vines with them down the page.  I traced around the leaves with one of my Staedtler Pigment Liner pens to make them pop. I added some drips of the Caribbean Blue, Time Travel Teal, Luscious Lime and the Pineapple Paradise and let them each drip pretty much down the whole page.   Added my list of things that I felt defined me as an artist and then wrote it down…..”I Am An Artist”   Added some white bubble wrap patches and called it done!  Kinda not sold on my white, but it’s okay and on the page now.  lol.  Here’s my page:

IMG_2593

Here’s a close up of the sprays all blending together on the page….I really do love this background.

IMG_2595

Remember when I said, ‘How hard could this be?’.  I had no problem posting this page to the groups Facebook page…..it took me till tonight to write-up a blog post on it as I was still feeling like it was a title I wasn’t feeling worthy of proclaiming.  This little challenge may take a bit longer to sink in than most….lol.

Thank you so much again for sticking with me…..I do appreciate it.  🙂 ❤

Huggss,

Yvonne

About mycraftingtherapyroom

My name is Yvonne Gebauer and I'm a cardmaker and have just entered the amazing world of Mixed Media and am LOVING it!. I'm a wife, a mother to two grown boys, and a grandmother to 5 amazingly beautiful grandchildren which I have to say is really all it's cracked up to be and more. I work full time and am really starting to think that work is getting in the way of life!! I have a large crafting room and I'm my happiest when I have a group of friends get together in this room and just have a blast. Every once in a while we actually create something! Or, when I get a chance to have one of my grandchildren over to just let them play and create what they want with what I have in my stash.....which is allot. My craft room is my therapy room of sorts. My place to go and just be......

4 responses »

  1. Oh you clever girl you, I never would have thought to use punches for my leaves. You did a great job. I too feel I am not an artist and it is going to take a lot more than that one painting to make me feel as if I am. Thank you for sharing. Love you artistic work.

I love hearing from you!!